1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: New Light Standard Design - Ongoing Update
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

What printer has replaced the Pro 3880?

Discussion in 'Epson InkJet Printers' started by 3dogs, Jun 13, 2019.

  1. Jun 23, 2019
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    Win 10 replaced installed Win7 yes on BOTH machines.

    I'll get the BIG machine out of the way first.
    Current status :
    Other than Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC and Bridge, everything that was there, is still tho I have not as yet delved into any of them.

    Lightroom had some images in it prior to the upgrade...ALL gone from the Lightroom CC contents screen. It's no saying cant find.....simply squeeky clean.
    C: Drive my Primary SSD a CorsairForce LX 500GB. Is now squeeky clean aside of system files . LightroomCC , Photoshop CC - are gone
    D: Drive Samsung SSD 850 PRO 512 GB is my workspace - squeeky clean aside of system files.
    E: Drive is a 2TB HDD...no idea what brand at this stage.
    Bridge is also empty.

    I will look at the small computer tomorrow. That is the one I have been using most.

    Cheers
     
  2. Jun 23, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Thank you for the information about your drives.

    Are you saying that LR, PS and Bridge are no longer installed on the drive? Are you saying all the image files are there?

    Are you saying that there are NO image files on the drives? Forget what LR, PS or Bridge say at the moment. Use Windows File Explorer to search for images files as I recommended.

    Were the image files kept on the drives during the upgrade, or did your computer guy back up the files and then delete them from the drive before the upgrade to Windows 10?. Are the files there but renamed as I posted previously?

    Please be specific and explain what you've done (eg "I used File Explorer..."), how you went about it (eg "I searched each drive using the Search function..." or "I looked at each drive and folder where my images should be and found xxx..."). Avoid using terms like "squeaky clean" if possible, instead use terms like "no image files were seen / found using File Explorer" so no misunderstandings occur.

    During the Windows 10 upgrade, the drive with the Primary Partition, the drive with Windows 7 on it, is the drive that is upgraded and could have missing apps or files. The other drives you have - the Samsung and the HDD - are not touched as they are physically separate drives. However, it is possible that the drives may not be recognized at all, doubtful since you seem to have accessed them in order to tell me information about them.

    Still, it is possible that during the upgrade to Windows 10, file permissions and other functions may be altered such that all drives are affected, though without a loss of data on your Samsung and HDD drives. An example is what application is attributed to what file type (the extensions I wrote about previously).

    Please clarify this.

    For now, please answer each of the questions in this post so we can have common understanding of some of the fundamentals of the problem in order to identify the problem. It's not fun and it's not pretty, but it needs to be done.

    As we say about printing nozzle checks until the printing problems are resolved... don't delete, uninstall, upgrade or install anything until we understand what is going on better.
     
    PeterBJ, 3dogs and The Hat like this.
  3. Jun 25, 2019
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    @stratman

    LR,PS and BR are still on this computer Yes.
    I have worked out what happened to this computer for the upgrade. The two SSD's were set up to mirror for continuous backup. That configuration apparently prevented Win10 from loading.

    So it transpires the C: drive was mirrored by drive D: . After discussion we reconfigured them back to basic, thus this computer now has 3 independent drives on it. It has 2 x 512GB SSD's C: and D:, a 2TB HDD E: :).

    All the files got shifted to (E: ) drive :) and put in a file that I had not looked at.

    So now I have effectively rolled back to day one with a new machine with LR, PS and BR with nothing in them.

    Had you not clearly believed that they HAD to be there SOMEWHERE I'd probably not opened every damn file on each of the three drives and found them on E: - Pictures, it was only after I pondered the significance, of the Changes to the configuration of the two SSD's that it dawned on me that he would not necessarily put them back where he got them from.

    So thanks to your insistence I went looking :thumbsup

    I'm now going through and syncing a pair of 1TB external drives I found that had all images backed up. The copies on these two drives were not made on the same date, or even month!, so I'm going through 16,000 plus images to sync them and clean out any rubbish I don't want to keep.

    After that I will address the small computer. I suspect I am going to find something similar with this computer, though a quick browse using explorer has not turned up a similar path - YET!!

    Cheers:weee:ya:old
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2019
    stratman, PeterBJ and The Hat like this.
  4. Jun 25, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,527
    Likes Received:
    5,329
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    Doctor @stratman come true once again… :hugs :D
     
    stratman and PeterBJ like this.
  5. Jun 25, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    I am truly glad to read you found your images and have been able to return to a measure of bliss with the computer.

    The devil is in the details! Upgrading your boot drive to Windows 10 may break a RAID array. I am not sure how you are mirroring your drives, but one method is RAID 1. There are plenty tales on Google about mirroring malfunctioning after the upgrade depending on how and what is used to perform the mirroring. There are also posts about complete successes after the upgrade and posts about people who rebuilt mirroring after the upgrade.

    In cases of mirroring malfunction on upgrading to Windows 10, it seems Windows itself may fail the upgrade and return to Windows 7 / 8. Windows 10 may also complete the upgrade but with broken RAID 1. In this case, you can return to your old Windows 7 /8 (within 30 days) and you will, hopefully, be as if you never tried upgrading to Windows 10.

    You may have a lot of work ahead, or a solution could be in the links I posted earlier. Consider having your computer guy do Google searches directed at specific situations with the malfunctions you have found. For instance, I Googled "upgrade windows 10 raid 1" and found enough information to better understand what may have transpired with you and what you might do to resolve it.

    Please keep us informed of your progress.
     
    3dogs and The Hat like this.
  6. Jun 25, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    When I have no idea what is happening, having the persistence of a pit bull with a bone and a methodical stepwise approach sometimes works. ;)
     
  7. Jun 26, 2019
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    Having gone back to basic, and IF I have understood the the TekSpeak of the IT fella " Going forward " :)lol:) we are doing this :

    Windows 10 has an auto 'system' backup that he has activated, so that is automated.

    Having had a couple of YEARS of soak time my paradigm shift is away from inordinately complex and convoluted cataloguing and storage to KISS.

    Once I get these two drives cleaned up and all the Dng. files restored I will create a NEW LR and BR. However, the two externals will have all FUTURE images in RAW, once loaded into LR/BR and NOT get touched at all...........well unless they are required for a restore.

    I can learn from my mistakes it seems :gig
     
    stratman, PeterBJ and The Hat like this.
  8. Jun 26, 2019
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Good thing you retired and have lots of free time! ;)

    When you're done you are going to have a computer that is like the Six Million Dollar Man - better, stronger, faster. :woot

     
    3dogs likes this.
  9. Jun 27, 2019
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    Yea! briefly,....... however, he's now DEAD!!:lol:

    .......but then that's computers for you.


    ...... on a serious note @PeterBJ has a thread on SSD's My computer GURU ( who soon after went BUST ) had me use Work Station components for this build, on an ASUS Motherboard, He installed a Corsair Force LX for the Programs, and a Samsung 850 PRO 512GB for all processing based on their strengths. Seemed odd as I would have used 2 x 850 PRO's myself.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
    stratman and The Hat like this.
  10. Jun 27, 2019
    PeterBJ

    PeterBJ Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    3,344
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
    I'm not an SSD expert, so I started that thread to get some advice. Samsung SSDs are made in 3 quality levels, PRO for heavy workstation use, EVO is high quality for home computers and QVO is a budget model for home computers. See this online brochure. I don't know how the Corsair disk compares to the Samsung disk so I cannot give any advice. Maybe @stratman knows the difference and can comment on this?
     
    3dogs and The Hat like this.

Share This Page