1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Photo stops printing when printer <>computer connection is wi-fi
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Windows 10 Free Update Offer

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by Emulator, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. Jul 30, 2015
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    804
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, R3000, WF-7525
    Actually no: I have been updating and even my old version Qimage (32-bit) does works flawlessly under Windows 10 64-bit. All my printers (Win-7 drivers) are working without the slightest problem. Starting up is a bit faster and I am glad with the start button, which was the reason I did not like Windows 8 and skipped that version. Strange: I like Windows XP, Windows 7 and Windows 10...the intermediate versions Windows Vista and Windows 8 were horrible to me. Mac OS X is also very nice.
     
    The Hat and Tigerman like this.
  2. Jul 30, 2015
    CakeHole

    CakeHole Print Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP610
    Its actually better if you try to install as near a version of Windows 10 to that you are upgrading from. IE if you have windows 7 professional or Windows 8/8.1 Pro in English install Windows 10 Pro in English. If you have windows 7 Home or Windows 8/8.1 Core Install plain Windows 10 in the same language. You can as suggested download language packs as updates BUT if you have done that on a prior install you are updating having 2 add-on language packs installed for the same language can cause conflicts. (rare but possible).

    Doing things this way especially on OEM installs means you do not even have to enter a serial number when installing as like for like example Pro for Pro upgrades are compatible with any pre-installed keys.

    You are also far better off disconnecting the internet, installing windows 10 first and then running updates, rather than let it run wild. EVEN MORE SO if you are doing an upgrade, this way you will only get the updates your specific system needs rather than basically every single one available.

    Unless it is windows xp or earlier theres no point going from win 7 to win 8 then win 10, win 7 will go to win 10 fine. For earlier versions My opinion would be rather than worry about years of data, backup emails etc first which are harder to move across, buy a new HDD or SSD (you can get them for £60 easily now) fresh install win 10 on that and use you old drive to pull all the data off, it saves a ton of time over backing it all up first.

    Pepole should note at present that link will only allow plain windows 10 and not pro, enterprise or education versions. It is also a different ISO to those that are retail or on technet.

    Shouldnt have to if you go from a 64bit version to a 64bit win 10 version.
     
    Tigerman and The Hat like this.
  3. Jul 30, 2015
    Tigerman

    Tigerman Print Addict Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    187
    Location:
    Jordan
    Printer Model:
    Canon MG5640, iX6840
    I finish installing win 10 64 bit all things backs same, all programs work very well no problems.

    I like it because throw old start or two mode in win 8 out, I make upgrade immediately to 10 and get all updates before installation.
    where is win 10 update ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  4. Jul 30, 2015
    fotofreek

    fotofreek Printer Master Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    San Francisco
    San Francisco Chronicle and the New York Times had articles about Win10 today. The NYTimes article was with much more detail and did mention some bugs that MS is working to eliminate.

    I may ask this more than once on this or any other thread re Win10 - what is the oldest model Canon printer that works flawlessly on your newly installed Win10 computer???? Just trying to hedge my bets with my closet full of good old Canon printers.
     
  5. Jul 30, 2015
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    804
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, R3000, WF-7525
    Hi Cakehole: actually using the download link gives me exactly the same pro version als I had with Windows 7, so I can confirm it does supports Windows 10 Pro.
     
  6. Jul 30, 2015
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,676
    Likes Received:
    5,424
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @fotofreek I have two old Canon models i865 and i9950 and both work with no issues whatsoever now on Win 7 64 Bit so I am suspecting them to do the same on Win 10, but getting my scanner to work with Photoshop 32 Bit is going to be a bit harder I reckon..
     
  7. Jul 31, 2015
    fotofreek

    fotofreek Printer Master Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    433
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    San Francisco
    @The Hat - when you finally jump to win 10 let me know how those printers fare. In the past I've thrown away a perfectly good scanner for which there was no updated driver for the new Windows OS. Once burned, -----
     
    The Hat likes this.
  8. Jul 31, 2015
    PeterBJ

    PeterBJ Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    3,394
    Trophy Points:
    333
    Location:
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
    @fotofreek , I have just finished upgrading my laptop to Windows 10 32 bit. I have installed these four Canon printers: i965, iP4000, iP4300 and MP540, so 3 or 4 printer generations are represented. All 4 printers work without problems, and install was plug and play. I haven´t tested CD printing yet, an add on module and a CD printing program might be needed. Hopefully they can still be downloaded from the Canon website.

    Here is an image showing the i965 is installed in Windows 10 and is doing a nozzle check, click to enlarge:

    i965-W10.jpg

    For service mode operations on newer Canon printers a service tool is needed. Here V3400 is tested with an MP540. It works flawlessly with the 32 bit laptop, click to enlarge:

    ST3400.jpg

    I also have a desktop running Windows 8.1 64 bit, but I have not yet decided if I want to upgrade or I should keep Windows 8.1. If I upgrade the desktop I will also report how the old Canon printers work with the 64 bit Windows 10.
     
    stratman and The Hat like this.
  9. Aug 1, 2015
    CakeHole

    CakeHole Print Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP610
    Interesting, maybe it is a combined Core/Pro ISO that is now being offered as download and like earlier versions of windows when upgrading it auto detects what prior version you have.

    Id be curious what the MD5 and SHA checksums are on the ISO you downloaded if you still have it, to compare to those from technet.

    If you do not have them or know how to get that and want to check, download...
    http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/hash_my_files.html
    run it
    click file --- add files
    select the win 10 iso you download
    wait patiently

    reply back with the MD5 AND SHA1 sums

    From that i will be able to tell everyone what exact version is offered at that link and its available languages without installing language packs.

    Ill probably be trying a fresh install of Win 10 Enterprise next weekend, mainly cos i like to have the best LOL and it would be rude of me not to use the technet subscription where i work :D
     
  10. Aug 1, 2015
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,676
    Likes Received:
    5,424
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    One of the draw backs that I have noticed with this new Freebie offer is, if you avail of it and upgrade from Win 7, then if or when you change your motherboard you’ll have to purchase the darn thing again and this time it’s not going to be free because your Win7 key will be lost..
     

Share This Page