Windows 10 Free Update Offer

pharmacist

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
2,268
Reaction score
836
Points
293
Location
Ghent, Belgium
Printer Model
Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
Actually no: I have been updating and even my old version Qimage (32-bit) does works flawlessly under Windows 10 64-bit. All my printers (Win-7 drivers) are working without the slightest problem. Starting up is a bit faster and I am glad with the start button, which was the reason I did not like Windows 8 and skipped that version. Strange: I like Windows XP, Windows 7 and Windows 10...the intermediate versions Windows Vista and Windows 8 were horrible to me. Mac OS X is also very nice.
 

CakeHole

Print Addict
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
615
Reaction score
455
Points
163
Location
United Kingdom
Printer Model
Canon MP610
I just installed Windows 10 twice on both my native Shuttle and iMac in virtual box upgrading my previous Windows 7.

A few notes: always check updates during upgrade + use an USB-stick + choose the right version of your windows, that is: when you have an english version with a german language pack on top of it, DO NOT install the german version but the english version....the update to Windows 10 will take care of it and you will neatly end with the previous german interface.
Its actually better if you try to install as near a version of Windows 10 to that you are upgrading from. IE if you have windows 7 professional or Windows 8/8.1 Pro in English install Windows 10 Pro in English. If you have windows 7 Home or Windows 8/8.1 Core Install plain Windows 10 in the same language. You can as suggested download language packs as updates BUT if you have done that on a prior install you are updating having 2 add-on language packs installed for the same language can cause conflicts. (rare but possible).

Doing things this way especially on OEM installs means you do not even have to enter a serial number when installing as like for like example Pro for Pro upgrades are compatible with any pre-installed keys.

You are also far better off disconnecting the internet, installing windows 10 first and then running updates, rather than let it run wild. EVEN MORE SO if you are doing an upgrade, this way you will only get the updates your specific system needs rather than basically every single one available.

I am looking at putting Win 8 on my second PC now to ease the transition to Win 10 when I finally decide to jump that is, I reckon it will be towards the end of the year.

I just want to see what programs will work and if my printers, scanner and camera can function as they do now, one of my PC's is already on Win 8 but doesn’t have nearly as many programs and Apps. on it as my main one does.

I intend to back up the lot first..
Unless it is windows xp or earlier theres no point going from win 7 to win 8 then win 10, win 7 will go to win 10 fine. For earlier versions My opinion would be rather than worry about years of data, backup emails etc first which are harder to move across, buy a new HDD or SSD (you can get them for £60 easily now) fresh install win 10 on that and use you old drive to pull all the data off, it saves a ton of time over backing it all up first.

If you want to force the update -like I did- you can use this tool:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO
Pepole should note at present that link will only allow plain windows 10 and not pro, enterprise or education versions. It is also a different ISO to those that are retail or on technet.

As usually must reinstall all programs thats was installed in win 8.1 64 bit ??
Shouldnt have to if you go from a 64bit version to a 64bit win 10 version.
 

Tigerman

Print Addict
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
231
Reaction score
130
Points
187
Location
Jordan
Printer Model
Canon MG5640, iX6840
I finish installing win 10 64 bit all things backs same, all programs work very well no problems.

I like it because throw old start or two mode in win 8 out, I make upgrade immediately to 10 and get all updates before installation.
where is win 10 update ?
 
Last edited:

fotofreek

Printer Master
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2004
Messages
1,811
Reaction score
433
Points
253
Location
San Francisco
San Francisco Chronicle and the New York Times had articles about Win10 today. The NYTimes article was with much more detail and did mention some bugs that MS is working to eliminate.

I may ask this more than once on this or any other thread re Win10 - what is the oldest model Canon printer that works flawlessly on your newly installed Win10 computer???? Just trying to hedge my bets with my closet full of good old Canon printers.
 

pharmacist

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
2,268
Reaction score
836
Points
293
Location
Ghent, Belgium
Printer Model
Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
Hi Cakehole: actually using the download link gives me exactly the same pro version als I had with Windows 7, so I can confirm it does supports Windows 10 Pro.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,978
Reaction score
5,659
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
San Francisco Chronicle and the New York Times had articles about Win10 today. The NYTimes article was with much more detail and did mention some bugs that MS is working to eliminate.

I may ask this more than once on this or any other thread re Win10 - what is the oldest model Canon printer that works flawlessly on your newly installed Win10 computer???? Just trying to hedge my bets with my closet full of good old Canon printers.
@fotofreek I have two old Canon models i865 and i9950 and both work with no issues whatsoever now on Win 7 64 Bit so I am suspecting them to do the same on Win 10, but getting my scanner to work with Photoshop 32 Bit is going to be a bit harder I reckon..
 

fotofreek

Printer Master
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2004
Messages
1,811
Reaction score
433
Points
253
Location
San Francisco
@fotofreek I have two old Canon models i865 and i9950 and both work with no issues whatsoever now on Win 7 64 Bit so I am suspecting them to do the same on Win 10, but getting my scanner to work with Photoshop 32 Bit is going to be a bit harder I reckon..
@The Hat - when you finally jump to win 10 let me know how those printers fare. In the past I've thrown away a perfectly good scanner for which there was no updated driver for the new Windows OS. Once burned, -----
 

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
4,109
Reaction score
3,461
Points
343
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
@fotofreek , I have just finished upgrading my laptop to Windows 10 32 bit. I have installed these four Canon printers: i965, iP4000, iP4300 and MP540, so 3 or 4 printer generations are represented. All 4 printers work without problems, and install was plug and play. I haven´t tested CD printing yet, an add on module and a CD printing program might be needed. Hopefully they can still be downloaded from the Canon website.

Here is an image showing the i965 is installed in Windows 10 and is doing a nozzle check, click to enlarge:

i965-W10.jpg

For service mode operations on newer Canon printers a service tool is needed. Here V3400 is tested with an MP540. It works flawlessly with the 32 bit laptop, click to enlarge:

ST3400.jpg

I also have a desktop running Windows 8.1 64 bit, but I have not yet decided if I want to upgrade or I should keep Windows 8.1. If I upgrade the desktop I will also report how the old Canon printers work with the 64 bit Windows 10.
 

CakeHole

Print Addict
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
615
Reaction score
455
Points
163
Location
United Kingdom
Printer Model
Canon MP610
Hi Cakehole: actually using the download link gives me exactly the same pro version als I had with Windows 7, so I can confirm it does supports Windows 10 Pro.
Interesting, maybe it is a combined Core/Pro ISO that is now being offered as download and like earlier versions of windows when upgrading it auto detects what prior version you have.

Id be curious what the MD5 and SHA checksums are on the ISO you downloaded if you still have it, to compare to those from technet.

If you do not have them or know how to get that and want to check, download...
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/hash_my_files.html
run it
click file --- add files
select the win 10 iso you download
wait patiently

reply back with the MD5 AND SHA1 sums

From that i will be able to tell everyone what exact version is offered at that link and its available languages without installing language packs.

Ill probably be trying a fresh install of Win 10 Enterprise next weekend, mainly cos i like to have the best LOL and it would be rude of me not to use the technet subscription where i work :D
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,978
Reaction score
5,659
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
One of the draw backs that I have noticed with this new Freebie offer is, if you avail of it and upgrade from Win 7, then if or when you change your motherboard you’ll have to purchase the darn thing again and this time it’s not going to be free because your Win7 key will be lost..
 
Top