1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Assistance needed - Epson 1430 sudden complete clogging or air in print heads
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Windows 10 Free Update Offer

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by Emulator, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. Aug 6, 2015
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    1,297
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    No, if Microsoft and Samsung wants us to use their products, they can sort it out.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  2. Aug 7, 2015
    CakeHole

    CakeHole Print Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP610
    There is nothing for them to sort out it can happen on any drive where the recovery and or reserved partition has been assigned an unexpected drive letter, or the volume size is set too small or large. More likely to happen on SSDs because many people take their old install, clone it and then restore onto on to the SSD and forget emtirely about system reserved partitions.

    Normally occurs because when you clone an conventional HDD its likely to be 1TB or bigger and the reserved partitions on it indicates the size of the drive. When you shift that all across to an SSD (which is normally smaller in total size than your old HDD) the reserved partitions and how large or small they can be is not suitable for the new smaller SSD.

    Clever cloning software will correct it or not clone the reserved partitions and just allow windows itself to recreate it upon boot. Others will clone the partition, realise its wrong or not needed when restoring and thus lock it..... and that is when the issue occurs.

    Im guessing from reading around it happens more for Samsung SSD users as i bet those at one point came with cloning software or some way to download some free cloning software when you bought the SSD.

    Is the install on your SSD a prior cloned across image? IF so you now know also why the issue has happened :D
     
    The Hat likes this.
  3. Aug 7, 2015
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    1,297
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015
    The Hat and 3dogs like this.
  4. Aug 7, 2015
    CakeHole

    CakeHole Print Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP610
    Its nothing to do with MS or Samsung, if you want to blame anyone blame whos ever cloning software you likely used when you got your SSD. Im assuming (you have not said) the SSD install is a cloned backup? Though chances are that even had the option somewhere buried to instruct it what to do with system reserved partitions.

    The way your windows is currently installed means it is incompatible with the upgrade process. Im no fan of MS but blaming them because you have a non standard or recommended install of an early version of their product is ridiculous, you may as well blame Apple and MS that their software is not by default compatible with each others OS.

    If you cloned your win 7 to the SSD and did it wrong that is your fault, if you did a fresh install and have played and altered settings to things not recommended that again im sorry to say is down to you, NOT MS or Samsung.

    The issue is easily fix, infact my suggestion of backing up your current install before you upgrade is something everyone should do anyway, not doing so and things then going wrong also means you have yourself to blame.

    A computer and its software is not smart it does what a user tells it, how smart that user is will equate to how good the computer and software behaves.

    You would not be a parent and be responsible for a child but blame it when it throws a temper tantrum and continues to do so because you fail to correct the child, would you??
     
    palombian and The Hat like this.
  5. Aug 7, 2015
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    4,383
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    That's Mister Kurtz I linked to before. It is a bit involved for a solution, although you may be able to do a non-destructive repartitioning quite easily as I also posted.

    I do agree that users should not have to go through this rigamarole to upgrade. Sometimes, however, users have to get involved, even if that means having someone else take care of it for you.

    As Cakehole suggested, backup your unique, valuable files before attempting an upgrade to be on the safe side. The reports of the upgrade process are overwhelmingly positive when it comes to keeping applications, settings and data. This includes hardware like printers.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  6. Aug 7, 2015
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    4,383
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    I would not be so quick to absolve them, particularly MS. MS may be responsible for partitioning the SSD on installation and is responsible for the creation and/or continued maintenance of certain files within partitions, eg the NTFS log file (see below).

    Where did you get this as the responsible issue? I have not seen this mentioned in any post I've read on the subject. I'm not saying you are right or wrong. The culprit I've read about appears to be insufficient space in the System Reserved partition due to an enormous NTFS log file. Maybe it is something else as you say.
     
  7. Aug 7, 2015
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,655
    Likes Received:
    5,412
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    The way I see it is that MS cant make an easy upgrade for every PC in the land, because no two PC’s are the same with thousands of bits of different hardware in inside them, Apple on the other hand don’t have that problem.. :hu
     
    stratman likes this.
  8. Aug 7, 2015
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    4,383
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    @Emulator

    One other solution for you would be to back up all unique valuable data then do a brand new installation of Windows 7, update to most current files using Windows Update, and then upgrade to Windows 10. You will have to re-install all your third party applications and then copy over your unique files (images, documents, etc) and manipulate settings as desired to get things to look/perform the way you want. The upside to this laborious process is a CLEAN machine!
     
  9. Aug 7, 2015
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    4,383
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Where's the sport in that? :D:he
     
    The Hat and palombian like this.
  10. Aug 8, 2015
    CakeHole

    CakeHole Print Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP610
    Im assuming his install is not a fresh install to an SSD but cloned across from a larger (in physical size) HDD, any system partitions will thus then be a different size.

    IE if you have a 2TB HDD with only 200gig used and you clone it to an 250gig SSD the cloned across hidden System Reserved partition will still think it is a 2TB HDD and thus its MAX POSSIBLE SIZE will be for a 2TB drive not a 250gig drive.

    Decent cloning software which restores the image OUTSIDE OF windows (like macrium, acronis (when using bootable recovery disk), clonezilla and more) will realise this and adjust it accordingly or create a brand new system reserved partition before restoring, rubbish recovery software used inside of windows will not.

    If his install was a fresh install to an SSD he has played about with the System Reserved partition sizing at some point with his install and when he did that he would of had a pop up message warning him of the problems in doing that, one of which i think you will find mentions recovery of the OS may no longer work or words to that effect. Which is basically to an extent what is going on when you run a MS upgrade.

    THE OTHER WAY TO POTENTIALLY FIX THIS THOUGH AGAIN BACKUP FIRST.....

    1. START SYSTEM IN SAFE MODE WITH COMMAND PROMPT
    2. RUN "Run chkdsk C: /f" where C: is the drive letter which has issues Do this for the OS drive and hidden partitions if needed.
    3. Also try the newer tool... https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/929833 AGAIN RUN THAT IN SAFE MODE.

    If that doesnt work there is another option at the end of this post which could also be quick and easy though potentially more destructive.

    Exactly how are they supposed to know what people have done with hidden partitions, especially when pop up messages will warn them not to alter them, if its clone by third party software again how is that MS at fault if that cloning software failed to do the job properly.

    That would certainly work, though probably more work than any other solution thus far.

    Id personally if they want a quick and easy fix..........
    delete the "system reserved partition", this will result in windows not booting at all, then to get it to boot up do this......
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/681-startup-repair.html
    run that as instructed 3 times, during that process it will recreate a new system reseverd partition. This time without the errors the current one has and then allow the win 10 upgrade to complete.

    AGAIN BACKUP THE SYSTEM BEFORE DOING ANY SUGGESTION
     
    The Hat likes this.

Share This Page