1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: 3D Metal Printing
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

A basic guide (see post #1) to setting up ARGYLL CMS profiling on your computer

Discussion in 'Printing Photos and Photo Software' started by Emulator, Feb 5, 2014.

  1. Mar 21, 2017
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
    HI Martin: you should open a command shell and type that makeprofile.bat. Just clicking on it won't work.

    Just don't use the 480target.bat to generate. My package is complete: it contains everything you need: target and the necessary files from you which you can generate your profile.

    Please have your profile properly dried before reading. For some dye printers 24 hours is necessary to stop color shifting after printing.

    Just make sure makeprofile is accessible in your path setting. Also make sure that a copy of adobe1998.icm is in your working directory.

    So you put all the files: 480target.ti1 and 480target.ti2 and adobergb1998.icm in a directory.

    Install argylllcms and make sure that your argyllcms is in your path setting of windows (see installation guide of argyllcms).

    type:

    Chartread -v -H -T0.4 480target

    Now just read the target. When all patches are read, type d, to save the reading and close the command.

    Afterwards you type: makeprofile

    you will get the following warnings:

    Please enter the internal ICC file name (use brackets like "x x x" for names with spaces):

    (for example: My_profile_with_Argyll_CMS or "My Profile with Argyll CMS")

    Please enter the (optional) copyright description (use brackets like "x x x" for names with spaces):

    (for example: "Nobody has the right to distribute this profile" or nothing}

    Enter the name of the .ti3 file created by the chartread command:

    Here you should enter: 480target

    Please enter the desired external name of your printer profile:

    (for example: "My Profile with Argyll CMS")

    Than it will several minutes for your computer to calculate the profile

    that's all folks :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
    martin0reg and The Hat like this.
  2. Mar 22, 2017
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    Martin, in answer to your question, don't forget that you can edit the CAP batch files in Notepad and re-save them under a different file name. As you are no doubt aware there are 4 Argyll command lines in each CAP file, the rest support these lines.

    See also:- http://www.argyllcms.com/doc/ArgyllDoc.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
    martin0reg and The Hat like this.
  3. Mar 22, 2017
    martin0reg

    martin0reg Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    737
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Germany Ruhrgebiet
    Thank you for the instruction, Pharmacist... but I can't get your makeprofile.bat running..
    ..maybe I don't see the wood for the trees..
    - If I first "open a command shell and type that makeprofile.bat" (as you said above)
    there will be "enter filename ... enter name of .ti3 ... enter external name"
    But then I will get a message at the end of the dos-box like "can't find the specified file"
    - If I simply klick on the makeprofile.bat the batch process will begin the same way, but in the end the dos-box disappears without any result.

    Emulator, thank you too for supporting my trial and error.
    After the CAP480 does work with my messy file structure, how can I use this capfile with pharmacist's 480target? Do I have to modify the batch file?
    - Or can I simply put the three files (480target.tif .ti1 .ti2) in the folder, where your cap480.bat lives, after removing any previous generated targen480.* files? And then choose step 3 and 4, chartread and colprof, using pharmacist's files - without step 1 and 2?

    Anyway .. if I'm tired of messing around with argyll, there is the easy and accurate running colormunki software, now version 1.2 ..
     
  4. Mar 22, 2017
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
    Did you put the adobeRGB1998.icc in your working directory ? This is very important, otherwise you will get the error message.

    So you should put: 480target.ti1, 480target.ti2 and AdobeRGB1998.icc in the same directory

    this is very important, otherwise you will the error message. The AdobeRGB1998.icc can be copied from the windows\system32\spool\drivers\color directory.

    Don't give up, it will work.
     
    martin0reg and The Hat like this.
  5. Mar 22, 2017
    martin0reg

    martin0reg Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    737
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Germany Ruhrgebiet
    Finally...makeprofile.bat is running..! :celebrate So you was right to insist, that it will work..

    I think I had to move the working folder below/into my argyll folder..

    One hour later: first prints turn out fine, very similar to those I printed with printerCAL (argyll GUI). The red tone prints out better, not as over saturated as with CM original software. But the contrast in the darker grey is a bit weaker than it should be, visible in the B&W center of the standard sample (outback)..
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
    pharmacist and The Hat like this.
  6. Mar 23, 2017
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    You can edit the individual Argyll command lines and change the shape and content of the targets. Once you have "discovered" what each Argyll command does in detail, you will be able to invent your own CAP file.:)
     
    martin0reg and The Hat like this.
  7. Mar 23, 2017
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
    Now you should concentrate in reading: the consistency of reading it slowly and steadily is very important to obtain good profiles.
     
    The Hat and martin0reg like this.
  8. Mar 24, 2017
    martin0reg

    martin0reg Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    737
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Germany Ruhrgebiet
    This seems to be more important than I thought!
    So I modified your ruler: with a bar of "kapa" cardboard as a guide sticked on the top and a black paper on the bottom, cutted precisely to avoid false lighting. I left the white paper on top as it glides better than the black paper.
    CMrulerglider-top.jpg CMrulerglider-bottom.jpg

    It's not to compare with emulators wooden carriage (see post 20) but imho effective: chartread is easier with less errors, it seems to improve also the reading of CM original targets, despite the much bigger patches!

    And for the batch files: I tried to only chartread and colprof your 480target with the CAP480.bat - and it works! No wonder as the attributes of these two commands are the same in both batch files... (still having problems to keep "makeprofile.bat" running ... It seems to dislike my system)
     
    PeterBJ, pharmacist and The Hat like this.
  9. Mar 24, 2017
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    See (Page 17, #166) for the later carriage.
     
    PeterBJ and The Hat like this.
  10. Mar 25, 2017
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
    always copy the adobe1998rgb.icc to your working directory. This is the culprit.
     
    PeterBJ likes this.

Share This Page