1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: How to take pictures of gloss differential properly?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Using ArgyllCMS + Colormunki to produce excellent printer profiles

Discussion in 'Paper & Other Media' started by pharmacist, May 26, 2012.

  1. Feb 2, 2014
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    780
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, 1500W, WF-7525
    Even more patches: I managed to experiment with ArgyllCMS and cropping and pushing as many patches into a single sheet of A4 paper, which is easily readible by the Colormunki using my home-made ruler and I get this:

    A4.jpg

    An astonishing amount of 750 patches on a single sheet of A4 and it is easily readible using a Colormunki device + my home-made ruler. The secret is enough white space before and after each row, so the Colormunki starts from reading white and ends with reading white, otherwise it will cause an error after reading a particular row.
     
    Emulator and Tudor like this.
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    Tudor

    Tudor Print Addict Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Location:
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Printer Model:
    Epson L800, 1400; ML-2165W
    Excellent! I might redo my targets using the -ii1 argument. Can you post the command line?

    What are the dimensions of the patches? It looks like 8,32 mm width, but what about the height?

    I played with printtarg and got this command:

    printtarg -v -ii1 -a1.05 -A0.85 -b -t600 -C -L -M6 -P -p230x380 A4

    With the lettering slightly lowered, cropping with 1 mm margin on top, left and right, then reducing the image to A4 I got this:

    A4_01.jpg

    The patches have the same dimensions as in my 725 target, so reading them should not be a problem. I'll have to modify the glider again, though... :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    780
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, 1500W, WF-7525
    My commands:

    targen -v -d2 -G -e8 -B8 -g128 -f750 "your profile chart name"

    (-g128: to get 128 steps of greys, to neutralise black&white printing, 8 white tiles + 8 black tiles)

    -printtarg -v -ii1 -a0.9 -A0.6 -T360 -m2 -P -p220x325 "your profile chart name"

    The generated tif-file has to be cropped and cut into a A4 sheet, leaving enough white space between the letters and the row and at the end of the row.
     
    Emulator, Tudor and The Hat like this.
  4. Oct 21, 2014
    Ria

    Ria Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Printer Model:
    canon pro 100
    Love your instructional guides. I followed them very carefully to create a 475 patch icc profile and encountered an error. I can't create the icc after creating a AD_CanonPro100.t13 file. Could you please help? Thank you very much.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    pharmacist

    pharmacist Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    780
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Epson Pro 3880, 1500W, WF-7525
    You should put adobeRGB1998.icc in the same directory, where you are producing your profile. Also after -C the whole text "freely distributable Argyll CMS created profile" should be between brackets, otherwise it thinks distributable is an argument in the command colprof.
     
    PeterBJ, Ria and The Hat like this.
  6. Oct 26, 2014
    Ria

    Ria Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Printer Model:
    canon pro 100
    Thank you so much for the reply. I noticed it was the syntax problem. I had used notepad to typed up the commands and copied them over to terminal. Now, I am typing the commands directly in terminal and it works perfectly.
     
    PeterBJ and The Hat like this.
  7. Nov 3, 2014
    FLMK

    FLMK Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    24
    Hi everybody,

    I'm new to ArgyllCMS + Colormunki.

    I have a problem when I use the chartread command...

    I have this error:

    chartread: Error - No instrument at port 1

    What does it means? My colormunki is installed and plugged in.

    How can I solve this problem?

    Then, when will my colormunki be calibrated? Will I be asked to calibrate it?

    Then, how can I profile 10x15cm papers? Will the white part of the paper be sufficient for the colormunki?

    Thanks in advance.

    Bye.

    PS: Sorry for my english.
     
  8. Nov 4, 2014
    FLMK

    FLMK Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    24
    Thanks for the answer.
    I've only installed drivers that comes with the colormunki...
    Sorry for the inconvenience.

    Thanks for the explaination about how to create charts for 10x15cm papers.

    Did you have problem with the 2 small square rubbers under the colormunki?

    I've tried my colormunki yesterday and the 2 small rubbers blocked the reading everytimes.

    So, I removed them and now I search a manner to remove the glue...

    Last question: Is your profile 10x15cm optimized for black and white?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2014
  9. Nov 4, 2014
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    710
    Trophy Points:
    187
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    > I've tried my colormunki yesterday and the 2 small rubbers blocked the reading everytimes.

    This caused for me also scratching of the (pigment) ink on some papers.
    I solved this by placing a steel ruler along the row to scan.
    One side of the munki glides on it, the other in the air.

    This works with the Xrite targets scaled 2 on a A4 sheet, but with the much smaller Argyll patches you should make a ruler yourself (or use 2 rulers).
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2014
  10. Nov 4, 2014
    FLMK

    FLMK Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    24
    Thanks.

    My colormunki is now detected.

    @palombian: Your measurements are correct if your Colormunki is in the air?

    @cls: I've done this and I got a problem:

    targen -v -d2 -G -e8 -B8 -g128 -f576 10x15cm
    printtarg -v -ii1 -a0.9 -A0.6 -T360 -m2 -P -p10x15cm
    chartread -v -H -T0.4 10x15cm
    colprof -v -qh -S AdobeRGB1998.icc -dpp -D"Tecco High Gloss PHG260" "10x15cm"
    pause

    I got this error:
    chartread: Error - CGATS file read error : Unable to open file '10x15cm.ti2' for reading

    And effectively, I don't have a "10x15cm.ti2" file.

    I only have a "10x15cm.ti1" file.

    How can I have the ti2 file?

    I've analyzed the "CAP750' file available on this website, and for me, I've done everything...
     

Share This Page