Site is loading endlessly..

CakeHole

Print Addict
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
615
Reaction score
455
Points
163
Location
United Kingdom
Printer Model
Canon MP610
Delete your browser cache and cookies CCleaner as recommeded by @stratman or Bleachbit (google them both) will make the process simple.
 

martin0reg

Printer Master
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
1,058
Reaction score
746
Points
273
Location
Germany Ruhrgebiet
Most lightly it’s your browser, because no one has reported any similar issues.
Which browser are you using that causes this problem, have you tried using any other browser temporarily just to see if that cures your problems..
Using chrome - no endless loading
Using my standard firefox - endless loading i.e. endless circle instead of site icon

Clear your browser cache and OS temp files. CCleaner does a nice job of this if you want automation with full control on the process.
..
No effect, still reloading after cleaning..

... forces a refresh. Again the solution here is a proper cache clear our and reload so checking how to do that for your specific browser is worth the effort.
Not sure what more I can do except clean with firefox and with ccleaner


www.printerknowledge.com keeps reloading ... there is this animated circle on the tab instead of the site's icon.
All other open sites/tabs in firefox are stable.
 

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
5,049
Reaction score
4,890
Points
373
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon MP990
Which OS are you using? If it is Windows Vista, then everything that can go wrong will go wrong.

Maybe your Firefox needs an upgrade or a reinstall? There is a free program MozBackup available, which will allow you to backup and restore your bookmarks and settings after reinstall. I have used MozBackup successfully. Beware of the download source, some freeware distributors pack the programs with "a little something extra" such as adware.
 

martin0reg

Printer Master
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
1,058
Reaction score
746
Points
273
Location
Germany Ruhrgebiet
windows XP (I know...old and unsupported...but I wait until win10)
Firefox is new/updated.
But most important: there are around 30 sites open in my firefox, all in tabs, and ONLY printerknowledge keeps reloading. Here are two out of ten open tabs:

firefox-printerknw-open.png
green animated cycle instead of icon in the tab and an "X" in the address bar to stop reloading.


firefox-printerknw-open2.png
the icon of site in the tab is stable and in the address bar there is a cycle arrow to start renew/reload
 

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
5,049
Reaction score
4,890
Points
373
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon MP990
I have just had an old XP 32 bit computer powered up. I opened the forum website in Firefox. This was OK, the version was 30.0 which updated to version 32.0.3, this was also OK and it updated to version 36.0.1 which is also OK. Here is a screen shot:

Firefox.jpg


I don't know what is wrong with your Firefox, maybe a re-install is necessary? With XP I think IE should not be used.
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
8,712
Reaction score
7,163
Points
393
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
What Add-ons -- plugins, extensions -- do you have installed with your Firefox?

For instance, I use NoScript which can block any or all scripts/Java/etc from running on a webpage.

It may be that not everything was cleared when you did CCleaner depending on how you set it up.

Sticking with Win XP is living on the edge. It could be you have been infected and this behavior is a sign. It could be your version of XP has been corrupted by whatever occurence to the extent you have a problem with the site. It could be one of a few things. Sometimes Firefox develops an issue that is peculiar to only a small percentage of users. I get crashes of the browser way too often compared to a year ago on my Win XP machine. Even Win 8 was smooth until after a Firefox update. Or maybe it was an update from Windows that caused a conflict. Don't know and may never know.

You mentioned having multiple tabs open at the same time. Is this behavior happening just when you have ONE tab, ie just the Nifty forum, on the browser?
 

CakeHole

Print Addict
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
615
Reaction score
455
Points
163
Location
United Kingdom
Printer Model
Canon MP610
Run Bleachbit...
http://bleachbit.sourceforge.net/

Select everything under firefox, and select other stuff you want rid off (temp files etc) perform the clean
Shut down bleachbit when it is done
Then click start
click run
type cmd
in the dos window type
ipconfig /flushdns
close dos window when it reports dns flushed
shutdown and reboot computer

Does that now solve it?
 

martin0reg

Printer Master
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
1,058
Reaction score
746
Points
273
Location
Germany Ruhrgebiet
If printerknw is loading and I look on a small tag line at the lower left, where the loading pages/url's quickly appear and disappear, it will tell me just for seconds a few sites are loading which seems not associated to printerknw (facebook google .. are these "robots"??) There is some weird loading going on...

Now in this moment, after I turned back from 1 hr standby, loading of printerknw is fine again (!!), no refreshing no weird loading messages. No idea what is and was and will be going on ... why it is going to endless reload and why it is working fine right now .. will see if the latter remains ..

PS ..probably Big Brother has taken over my computer..
 
Last edited:

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
15,594
Reaction score
8,678
Points
453
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
Frankly I am surprised you got it to work again, running XP is a sure recipe for disruption, so be prepared for it to happen again.. :(
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
8,712
Reaction score
7,163
Points
393
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
a few sites are loading which seems not associated to printerknw
Google, Facebook, Twitter, Skimresources and gstatic are loaded when you browse to the forum per NoScript. Any or all of these can be forbidden to load by NoScript. There may be others since I only just glanced at NoScript.

It could be something you have installed (a plugin?) on Firefox is conflicting. That's why I asked about your add-ons which you haven't responded.

after I turned back from 1 hr standby, loading of printerknw is fine again
Glad this worked, but, "standby", sleep or hibernation mode are not recommended if there is a conflict. Any conflicts loaded in Windows memory will remain unless you power off completely and then start up again. This is a "cold" boot, meaning the computer is completely powered off.

Fingers crossed for you to have smooth sailing from here on out! :fl
 
Top