1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Improved Heat Box
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

CR-10 Was Printing Fine - But Now Won't Power Up

Discussion in '3D Printer Models / Reviews / Experiences' started by Nifty, Sep 2, 2017.

  1. Sep 9, 2017
    Nifty

    Nifty Printer Master Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    711
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Location:
    Bay Area CA
    Printer Model:
    CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
    I had power going into the ATX PSU, then I had the 12 volt leads coming out of the PSU that I then was attaching to the wires that were going into the motherboard "power in" ports.

    Here are the wires (red arrows) I was connecting to with the PSU live:

    upload_2017-9-8_16-52-21.png

    If the PSU was on and THEN I connected, the PSU would shut down. If I connected the wires and then powered on the PSU, everything worked fine.
     
  2. Sep 9, 2017
    Nifty

    Nifty Printer Master Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    711
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Location:
    Bay Area CA
    Printer Model:
    CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
    I still have some wire cleanup to do, but here's my new ATX Power Supply (PSU) next to my working printer!

    As you can see, I'm printing 1 of 4 new legs that will let me put both of these under the printer :)

    (BTW, it's nice having the power switch in front and easy to access... even though it's under the power plug).
    creality-cr-10-atx-psu-power-supply.jpg
     
    The Hat and stratman like this.
  3. Sep 9, 2017
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,685
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    There is a need to hide some of your wiring loom under your printer, but will the new power supply fan not affect your heated platform.

    I decide against putting the control unit under my printer because it made it impossible to see the screen when the platform was in the home position, I then decided to make the legs only half the height, and did mine in two colour...

    But are you really printing the legs at 402 % speed, that’s a crazy speed for legs, after all the printer will be depending on them been supportive in two directions...
     
  4. Sep 9, 2017
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,323
    Likes Received:
    3,509
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    If that red-orange on the top of the power supply is a fan then just rotate 90 degrees on its side so that the fan is pointed away from the box and platform. May be less visually attractive with the power cord up off the table. Could place the PSU on the other side of the box if desire the power cord to be at table level.

    I would consider keeping separate the PSU from underneath the platform entirely, and any fan exhaust directed away from the printer.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  5. Sep 9, 2017
    Nifty

    Nifty Printer Master Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    711
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Location:
    Bay Area CA
    Printer Model:
    CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
    Hmm.... interesting question. I almost never use the heated bed, but when I do, that might make a difference. I'll either insulate the bed, move the PSU away from under the printer, turn it on it's side, etc.
    Ah, I didn't think of that, but I rarely print stuff that is huge and would cover the front... but I'll keep that in mind. BTW, you menioned when it's in the "home" position? That's the position on my printer where I'd have the most clear view of the box vs. the opposite end of the print bed.
    haha... yes!! I was mostly just testing the size of the print to see if I really wanted to print 4 of them. Turns out it's not a good model and the size isn't right for the foot. Also, I had the speed in the slicer really low in anticipation of cranking up the speed on my printer.
    Yup, great idea!!!
     
    stratman likes this.

Share This Page