Canon MG8150 / 8250 advice please

sam21

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
H guys I am new to this brilliant forum and looking for a little advice please.

I know there is not definite answer to my question as I understand refilling ink cartridges is a matter of personal choice but a little advice would be nice.

My curent printer is a Pixma IP400R and I have a CISS ink system from Cityinkexpress I have had this system for about a year now, and I am very pleased with the system and the quality of the ink.

The only problem I have is I have to use the printer every day if I dont use it for a day or two I have to run a cleaning cycle before I can print anything in colour. (I have read on this forum others have the same problem with Ciss systems).

But now I am looking to buy a new canon printer a MG8250 if I can fine any retailer with some stock of I am unable to source one I might buy the MG8150. I understand both these printers are heavy on ink so I would like to be able to refill the cartridges, I dont think I will use a Ciss again because of the constant cleaning cycles .

After reading a lot on this forum I have decided to buy my ink from octinkjet as recommended on this site.
What I am worried about is there seems to be a lot said about the top method of refilling cartridges and sealing the fill hole I like the idea of a hot glue gun to seal the hole, but do this plugs from octinkjet do a good job and do they clear the top of the printer ok without fouling the printer casing. I would not like them to be pulled out and deposit a full cartridge of ink into the printer.

Also some people are recommending the use of 520 and 521 cartridges instead of the 525 and 526 is this because the 525 and 526 are black and you are unable to see the ink level.
If thats so does anyone know where I can buy some 520/521 with the correct chips please?

I know this is a lot to ask but any advice would be much appreciated.

Ps i am in the UK
Regards to you all. :)

The Hat