Trouble getting half decent quality from a Stylus Pro 4000

cmscss

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi There,

I'm new to these kinds of printers and now have a second-hand Stylus Pro 4000.

Setup is as follows:
- Printer has the optional ethernet card
- Using 8x 220ml ink cartridges
- Computer is running Mac OS 10.7
- Fresh install of 10.7 drivers from the Epson website
- Testing prints using a 160gsm Hi Resolution matte paper called Jetmat36 from a company called Jetpro
- Printing from Lightroom 3 using the Epson/Apple driver

The prints exhibit:
- Cyan instead of solid black (like the printer is missing black ink)
- Prints are really washed out (they look over exposed)
- Or a combination of both

None of the inks are below 25% and I'm not seeing any warnings so am not sure why the printer won't print solid black.

Maybe I need to invest in some RIP software (it came with an Epson RIP but the installer is too old to work) but I was expecting a half decent print with the Epson drivers - when I say washed out prints, I mean no highlight detail and most of the mid tones are missing.

Also, when I cancel a print (hold the pause button for 3 seconds) the printer will cancel the print but when I come back to the printer, it's printed the entire print again.

Because I'm not super familiar with the terminology, I suspect I'm searching for the wrong things so any help or pointers in the right direction would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Ben

jtoolman

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
All of them! LOL
First question would be, How is your Nozzle Check looking?
That would immediately tell you what colors are no printing.

cmscss

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Thanks for that - not good!

After running the check, the printer is sitting there saying that the nozzles are still clogged.