time spent on refilling a cartridge

doctor

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I have been watching and reading many of the posts in this forum, and have come to the conclusion my opinion on the time i would spend on refilling a customers cartridge, is different than most.

So i would like to ask everyone what thier thoughts are on this subject. at what point, time wise, does it begin to cut into your profit, and you deem the cartridge a failure?

brwhitesell

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
My first post *tear*

I work in the retail inkjet refilling business and we basically look at the time spent refilling one customers cartridge like this. Say we sell the refill for $10, just throwing a number out there. If you pay an employee $10/hour, they spend 20 minutes on one cartridge, that would cost you $3.33 in time right there. That doesn't include the cost of the ink, time, any solvents/cleaning supplies used, repackaging materials, clips, etc. that go into refilling and properly getting that cartridge back out to the customer. So say you have $5 into the labor and everything else once that cartridge is done (just rounding numbers here). So you sell it for $10 back to the customer, you didn't buy the core, so you made roughly $5, in 20 minutes. In general I don't like to spend more than 10 minutes working on one particular cartridge for an individual customer. Also keep in mind that batching cartridges and having them ready to go (exchange to the customer) will recoup some of the loss on your individual refills where you may not have refills already available. Any more than 20 minutes on one cartridge for one person isn't worth it, at those numbers anyways, kind of just have to build up a feel for when you say "okay this isn't worth it"

I hope this post helped in some way!

On a side note;

I've been reading the forums here for a long time and have been impressed by the knowledge and support the members here give and I am happy to now be a part of it. Thanks all!