1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: A Real Cool Upgrade to Improve your 3D Printing...
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Resetting of some carts on Epson Pro 3880, blocked in software?

Discussion in 'Epson InkJet Printers' started by Harry Briels, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. May 13, 2018
    martin0reg

    martin0reg Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    Germany Ruhrgebiet
    @Roman (sorry no kyrillyc lettters on my keyboard)

    This is from 2015, when this resetter already did fail:

    See the previous and following posts of this for the one resetter that did work.

    And NEVER do update any firmware! NEVER ... at least not deliberately...
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
    The Hat likes this.
  2. May 13, 2018
    Роман Олегович Журавлев

    Роман Олегович Журавлев Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Pyatigorsk, Russia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3800. Epson L800
    I'm not sure about 10-15 percent, I think I've seen chips that were reset near zero, or even zero. It was the Epson 4450. maybe 3800 works differently? But still, I found chip LLK and it has 31% and I can't reset it too.
    I think I need another resetter, but how can I understand will be it working or not?

    Ok, understand.

    No problem, I need learn English and I need more English)

    Finally, I found QE589 on Ali - it will be working?

    Roman
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
    The Hat likes this.
  3. May 13, 2018
    martin0reg

    martin0reg Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    Germany Ruhrgebiet
    The resetter from posting #14 (the second) and the same from posting #18 (Harry Briels JToolman) is still working on my 3880. But it wasn't updated since I bought it (used around 2015) and my newest cart expired around 2016 I think

    But with resetters you will surely never be sure... because Epson don't like them..
     
    The Hat likes this.
  4. May 14, 2018
    Роман Олегович Журавлев

    Роман Олегович Журавлев Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Pyatigorsk, Russia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3800. Epson L800
    Ok, Thank you! Firmware on my Epson 3800 - 05.2007
    I bought resetter on Ali, I hope it will work ))
    LK - 4%. Panic! :barnie Does anyone have spare chips?
     
  5. May 15, 2018
    W. Fisher

    W. Fisher Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Printer Model:
    Epsons, Canons, Brother.
    I recently noticed on the Epson website some of the drivers are no longer available as standalones and some seem to become part of the Windows updates. If Epson has gone to that method with "Microsoft's Update Tuesday," I could see it disabling the resetable chips (per Jon Cone's emailed newsletter about the new drivers disabling the chipped printers.) without one knowing. Dunno, but be careful!
     
    PeterBJ and The Hat like this.

Share This Page