1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Improved Heat Box
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Pro-10 problem printing in art paper mode in custom size (on Mac)

Discussion in 'Canon InkJet Printers' started by Jim Darski, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. Sep 6, 2018
    Cinevit

    Cinevit Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro-10
    Hi, I have done a several tests and some research. I'm about to give up, but maybe some of you Printers have had a similar problem and can enlight me.
    I have Canson Watercolor paper 12x18 in (not the inkjet paper, but regular watercolor). After watching some youtube videos I have seen some successful prints on this paper with Canon Pro-10. I'm using OEM inks, and I want to use Art Paper mode in order to be able to use the Matte Black for better blacks on this paper. But whatever I do I can not make it to work. It maybe because of I use Mac? One person told me he could print on that paper in custom page setup. He uses PC. However, I was not able to do it.
    I'm printing from Photoshop. The printer driver does not have preset 12 x 18 in for art paper. I set the custom size and set the non-printable area to 1.2 in margins (which is roughly 30mm). I select the art paper in media tab. That does not work. The printer gives me a little exclamation sign in the printer driver icon (no explanation of the error can be found). And it does not proceed with printing. I tried using the Canon Print Studio Pro (a pain to install on Mac for Photoshop!, btw). But the plug-in does not even have a custom size option when Art Paper is selected. The custom size is grayed out. And no 12 x 18 in preset is available. Is there really no way to print on 12 x 18 art paper on pro-10? (I'm surprised, for this is a professional printer after all).
    Any help appreciated!
     
  2. Sep 6, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,685
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @Jim Darski, The problem your having is a very common one when using a Mac to print with, you must tell the O/S what size your intending to use in the same way you do with in print driver.

    Here are some pics to help, you may not need all of them to get where your going but they should set you in the right direction, O’ a little tip check every setting twice before committing to print...

    Mac’s are very easy to use but their print setup hasn’t change since Adam was a boy and it’s a bitch to get use too...
    P.S. One Pic shows Page setup and another shows the Print setup, they much match for it all to work..
    Good luck.
    Instructions.jpg
    This might be easier to read than the PDF
     

    Attached Files:

    stratman likes this.
  3. Sep 6, 2018
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,323
    Likes Received:
    3,509
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    I knew @The Hat knew Adam but did not know he knew Mac! :old
     
  4. Sep 7, 2018
    Cinevit

    Cinevit Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro-10
    Thanks so much for the instruction. However in Photoshop there isn't much I can do to match the printer driver dialogue box. Paper size and margines can be only selected through the Print Settings - which is the printer driver. The only thing I do in Photoshop is the Color Profile. The paper size and boarders selected in Print Setup are reflected in Photoshop print panel. And they show correct boarders of 1.2 in as in the Print Setup window. I looked through the Photoshop print panel and the Print Setup window. Everything is setup correctly. But the printer does not print. :idunno
     
  5. Sep 7, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,685
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    If you were printing from windows that might be the case, however you can set paper sizes in Photoshop itself, as I pointed out there are two separate places to set Paper sizes in, Photoshop and Mac O/S.

    You start by opening your print in Photoshop, and by using this Tap
    Capture.PNG
    you can configure the printer to your requirements, but to print successful you must also instruct the O/S print spooler to send the same correct Page size to the printer, and if there is a conflict then the Print Spooler cancels the print command.

    Continue by clicking on print but this time go through the O/S Page setup once again, the Print setup much be the same as the Printer Page setup, you’ll find many many settings in the Page setup Tabs and then you can click on the Photoshop Tab to check that both settings are the same, and when they are it will print...

    2nd  Print.jpg
    Yes, I use to know Mac well back when I was a boyo also... :clap
     
  6. Sep 7, 2018
    Artur5

    Artur5 Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Printer Model:
    Canon ip3000 Canon pro10s
    I have encountered this issue in Windows too. When you select one of the Fine Art papers in the driver (that includes Canon mate pro Premium ) you are limited to a paper size with 30mm borders and there’re only five to choose from : Letter, 11x17”, A4, A3 and A3+
    You cannot use any other size, included custom. Scale to fit won’t work either. The Pop up warning dialog would appear again requiring you to select the “correct” size for Fine Art (i.e. one of those five with 30mm. borders)
    This has nothing to do with Photoshop. It's imposed by the Canon driver for the Pro10 ( other printers may behave different). I wouldn’t know if there's a workaround for this issue in a Mac computer. In Windows there isn't.
    For 12x18” paper the only thing to do would be to select 11x17” and accept the waste of one extra inch of paper as the lesser evil.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
  7. Sep 7, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,685
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @Artur5, The paper size limit in Canon Page setup is a bit of a joke, but it can be easily over come by setting your media setting to Hagaki, and that way you have no restrictions on over sized margins or Custom paper sizes.

    You can also use whichever Black ink you wish by simply swapping or having a dedicated cartridge filled with your choice of Matte/Photo ink, but don’t get them mixed up and this procedure does require a Custom profile if you’re really picky...

    Untitled-6.jpg

    It's a Canon thing and it has nothing to do with the O/S..:mad:
     
  8. Sep 7, 2018
    Artur5

    Artur5 Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Printer Model:
    Canon ip3000 Canon pro10s
    Yes, I know that. With a custom profile you can also select normal mate paper in the driver. Question is, in which way this affects the driver internal settings when using photo paper, Hagaki, plain or Fine Art. It’s only the amount of ink that changes for different papers ?. i.e. less ink for plain paper, more for Photo papers and even more for Fine Art ?.
    I’d rather use the correct paper setting, if possible. For the time being, I’m staying away from fancy Fine Art papers. Too pricey and too many quirks.
    We can’t help good paper being expensive but we could do with a more friendly driver. DO YOU HEAR MR.CANON ?

    I guess not. Japan is too far away.. . :D
     
  9. Sep 7, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,685
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @Artur5, The Printer setting are there for your exclusive use, well at least the ones that Canon let us all change, but please remember there not set in stone, it’s up to you to find the most suitable ones that fit your type of printing needs.

    As to how much inks are been used is also down to you, there are a choice of 4 different ink amount to use, because the internal print driver can’t tell which type of Media you’re using, you can be a pioneer or a follower when it come to your own print setting.

    To test which setting are best use only a small size at a time say, A6, (Crop your photo) that way you can arrange many different print settings on one single sheet, it also saves on ink too.

    The funny thing is, you pick your own Profiles separate to Canon profiles, so why not pick your own Media setting too and don’t let Mr Canon interfere with the pleasure that printing brings you, it’s surprising what results you can get when you experiment with all the different settings.

    Switching black inks is just one example...
     
  10. Sep 7, 2018
    Cinevit

    Cinevit Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro-10

    Just how do you get to that Paper Setup page? When I click on print, it does not open any OS print panel. It sends it to the print queue without any additional step. And there is no Page Setup button in the Photoshop print panel. It's all done through the Print Settings, as far as I can see. Any idea? :hu
     

Share This Page