"New" Canon Pro-10 showing B200 error

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,550
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
Well, she looks a whole lot better than when we first started her up... What could that streak on the CO be from?
That is one of the most remarkable recovery I have seen in a long time, congratulations on your persistence and success, I wouldn’t worry about those little marks, just go and print and enjoy the whole printing experience.. You deserve it..:thumbsup
 

AdrianWoon

Getting Fingers Dirty
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
11
Points
38
Location
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Printer Model
2 Canon Pro-10's and 1 Pro-100
That is one of the most remarkable recovery I have seen in a long time, congratulations on your persistence and success, I wouldn’t worry about those little marks, just go and print and enjoy the whole printing experience.. You deserve it..:thumbsup
If it weren't for this forum and the amazing amounts of help and advice offered by you, @palombian, @stratman, @mikling and so many others, none of us mere mortals would stand a chance reviving/fixing our printers. I'm super happy with this result - thank you everyone who helped.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,627
Reaction score
1,937
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
After all, it was a virtually new printer.
But anyway, a proof the printheads are sturdy.
 

AdrianWoon

Getting Fingers Dirty
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
11
Points
38
Location
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Printer Model
2 Canon Pro-10's and 1 Pro-100
After all, it was a virtually new printer.
But anyway, a proof the printheads are sturdy.
Actually I was wondering about that - are the number of pages stored in the printer or is it reset on a new printhead? If it's stored in-printer, then I got a really, really good bargain on the printer...
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,627
Reaction score
1,937
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
As far as I know the page counter is not reset automatically with a new printhead.
It was not on the PRO9500(II).
Do not see this possibility in the service program either.
 

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
4,555
Reaction score
4,206
Points
353
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
The old service tools V1050 and V1074 had an EEPROM clear function. Newer service tools do not have this function. Attempting to use one of these old service tool on the Pro-10 will cause lock of service mode so I also think the number of printed pages is true.

Here is a post about cleaning a Canon MP540 printhead. Notice the EEPROM printout that seems to show the number of printed pages has been reset.
 
Last edited:

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,627
Reaction score
1,937
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
The old service tools V1050 and V1074 had an EEPROM clear function. Newer service tools do not have this function. Attempting to use one of these old service tool on the Pro-10 will cause lock of service mode so I also think the number of printed pages is true.

Here is a post about cleaning a Canon MP540 printhead. Notice the EEPROM printout that seems to show the number of printed pages has been reset.
For info: I was able to reset the waste ink counter of a PRO-10 with service tool V5204 (has been reported here also for the PRO-10S).
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,550
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
For info: I was able to reset the waste ink counter of a PRO-10 with service tool V5204 (has been reported here also for the PRO-10S).
Yes but the page count still remains and shows true, for the printer and not the print head...
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,627
Reaction score
1,937
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
Yes but the page count still remains and shows true, for the printer and not the print head...
The number printhead changes is recorded in the EEPROM.
But you can't know if it was a new one or reinstalled after cleaning.

According to @mikling, who told he knows of only one client who had to change the printhead of a PRO-10 (because he didn't fill up the cartridges correctly), the design is much enhanced versus the PRO9500II and PRO-9500.
That the same printhead is used in the PRO-300 says enough.
This makes the PRO-10 more future-proof than the PRO-9500 (no printheads available anymore) too.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,550
Reaction score
7,189
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
This makes the PRO-10 more future-proof than the PRO-9500 (no printheads available anymore) too.
Very sad, she was a good printer in her day, and retired much to early...
When my day comes I'll be hunting for a used pro 10...
 
Top