1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: MG5350 squeaking during head cleaning
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Installing Pro 3880 in Ethernet

Discussion in 'Epson InkJet Printers' started by Harry Briels, May 2, 2018.

  1. May 13, 2018
    Jorik

    Jorik Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Location:
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
    Printer Model:
    Canon MX925 & Canon MG5450
    Hi Harry,

    I don't know too much about the Epson 3880, but it does seem problematic if the Network enable is not persistent after a restart.

    I'll try to ask my questions in a different way to understand your configuration better.

    First, how is your iMac connected to the network? By cable or through Wifi?

    Regardless of how it is connected, here are the steps to ping the printer. Ping is a network utility that is often useful when troubleshooting networking issues.
    1. Start Network Utility (through Spotlight is easiest)
    2. Click on Ping tab.
    3. Enter the IP address of the Epson in "Enter the network address to ping". Set the number of pings to 5 pings.
    4. Push Ping button

    If you see something like this, your iMac can connect to your printer:

    Ping has started…

    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=255 time=5.394 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=5.451 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=5.967 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=5.558 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=255 time=4.225 ms


    On the other hand if you see something like this, your iMac cannot reach your printer:

    Ping has started…

    PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254): 56 data bytes
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 3

    --- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
    5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
     
    stratman likes this.
  2. May 14, 2018
    berserk

    berserk Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Sweden
    Printer Model:
    3880
    There is something like "reserved" IP:s by DHCP - that is IP:s reserved for automatic assigning of the IP's.

    As (not telling here...too much.. ) the IP chosen as static(fixed) preferably should (could be) 192.168.1.xxx

    As said before and this is working on my 3880 and on most routers again try this AFTER you have checked that You have NO works waiting in the printing queue - queue must be clean and deleted. Also the "USB-3880" must be disabled if still there.<----

    In 3880-panel
    Chose"Printer setup" - Network
    Next "Enable Network"
    Static - Fix IP: 192.168.1.141
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Def. Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    Chose to tick "Use Bonjour" (the most foolproof)
    Save settings in 3880-panel

    This works in Windows AND with Linux (the latter with PrintFab on 3880)
    However I know there is something in Mac-machines named Apple-Talk or something else - however assigning a printer and creating a printer must be in the same manner.


    After that (if not there by Plug and Play) You should create a printer in the Mac Operating system (OP-system) in the old manner and assign it settings above as well- however when creating a new printer mostly the OP-system suggest the connected printer not in use (but configured as above).

    This works in Windows AND with Linux (PrintFab on 3880) - however this link about "Mac-troubleshooting printer in network" might be taken in consideration as well.

    https://support.apple.com/kb/ph25566?locale=en_US

    I have just tested and noticed that "EpsonNetConfig" (Win) take some time to show the printer - so wait a minute or so for that soft to sort things out. As said before - I never used it. Just the ordinary printer drivers and the OP-system.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
  3. May 14, 2018
    Harry Briels

    Harry Briels Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Location:
    Mechelen Belgium
    Printer Model:
    EPSON Pro 3880 & Canon MX925
    JORIK:
    I applied your instructions and ended up with the second list of results of the Ping, meaning that iMAC can not connect to the Epson 3880.
    My (new) Ethernet cable Cat 5e, is connected between Printer and at one of the three equal top ports on on the Airport Time Capsule. The port on the printer shows a green light, there is no green light at the port on the Airport Time Capsule.
    Harry
     
  4. May 14, 2018
    Harry Briels

    Harry Briels Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Location:
    Mechelen Belgium
    Printer Model:
    EPSON Pro 3880 & Canon MX925
    Berserk: The basic problem seems to be that, after removing the USB that there is no Ethernet connection between the 3880 printer and the iMac.

    I nevertheless tried to apply your instructions:

    In 3880-panel
    Chose"Printer setup" - Network OKE
    Next "Enable Network" OKE
    Static - Fix IP: 192.168.1.141 HERE I DON'T KNOW HOW TO APPLY Static-Fix IP etc.
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Def. Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    Harry
     
  5. May 14, 2018
    Jorik

    Jorik Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Location:
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
    Printer Model:
    Canon MX925 & Canon MG5450
    Hi Harry,

    The description in the Epson 3880 Networking Guide is a little unclear, but it seems that a solid green light (on the left of the port) and no blinking on the right, indicates there is no network connection:
    https://files.support.epson.com/pdf/pro3880/pro3880ng.pdf

    There could only be a couple of reasons for that and it is difficult to diagnose remotely ;-)
    1. Port on Printer is not enabled (there seem to be issue in the network configuration of the Epson)
    2. The cable is not making a good connection with the printer
    3. The cable itself is faulty.
    4. The cable is not making a good connection with the Airport
    5. The port on the Airport is not enabled.

    To rule out the obvious errors, I would first try a different ethernet cable. It may sound silly, but it is possible that it is not ok, even if it's new. Can you test the same cable and port on the AirPort and connect it to your iMac instead? If this works fine, items 3-5 are all ok. Similarly you could also connect the printer directly to your iMac, if that works, items 1-3 should be fine.

    I saw there is a "INIT NETWORK SETTING" option in the Network Config menu. While I don't think it should be necessary, it sure won't hurt to initialize the network settings and configure everything one more time. After configuring the network on the printer and turning it off and on, if you print a status sheet, it should show the correct network settings, if I understand the manual correctly.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  6. May 14, 2018
    berserk

    berserk Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Sweden
    Printer Model:
    3880
    OK....Harry....sometimes it's not simple....

    Try this:
    I wrote IP 192.168.1.141 .... write instead the full address as 192.168.001.141 .... some MIT-programmers are very sensitive.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  7. May 14, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    5,395
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    The Trouble that Harry is having is one of the reasons why I have always stayed using USB, it’s fool proof... :oops:
     
    berserk and Jorik like this.
  8. May 15, 2018
    berserk

    berserk Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Sweden
    Printer Model:
    3880
    Hmmm...Harry.....
    .....You don't by any chance have an old Polaroid hanging around.:ya:fl
    Again - try a new cable!!!! Shit happens repeatably and buy two in a respectable shop.

    (And I'm not even sorry for that one! Just some morning berserking!)
    Envy Your persistence - my 3880 would be sledged by now and Canon-ized!

    By the way - I hope The Hat's USB-ports are going crazy as well so he can taste the art of ethernet!!!!!!

    PS
    By the way my edit:
    Setting IP on 3880:
    In the address place - direct after IP press "right-button" and You are asked for the subnet mask and then press "right-button" again and You are asked for the Gateway - That is if You have not noticed that.
    DS
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
    The Hat likes this.
  9. May 17, 2018
    Harry Briels

    Harry Briels Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Location:
    Mechelen Belgium
    Printer Model:
    EPSON Pro 3880 & Canon MX925
    Dear Jorik and Berserk,

    I tried all advice I received. But to no avail.

    I tested various Ethernet cables and as I wrote before, finally bought a new one Cat 5e.
    I tested these advices with and without USB connection. Switched the iMac off and on.

    I noticed the following irregularities (?):

    1) on the printer port to which I connect the Ethernet cable, there is a green light (left top).
    On the other connector in the Airport, there is no green light!

    -2) on the printer LCD > in Network Setup, it always shows to be on "Disable".
    I change and confirm "Enable".
    The set up program then requires to switch the printer off and on again.
    When I check the Network Setup thereafter it is again at "disable"!

    -3 )In Applications I go to Epson software>EpsonNet>Epson Config V4< EpsonNet Config App.<and open "EpsonNet Config"
    There is no sign of the Epson 3880 in the listing and all is just empty and blank.

    I can still use the printer via USB, but I still would like to have the 3880 on Ethernet in stead.
    Thanks for all your efforts and advices!
    Harry
     
    The Hat likes this.
  10. May 17, 2018
    berserk

    berserk Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Sweden
    Printer Model:
    3880
    OK, Harry...
    Checked mine.
    Your point 2/
    That is all right - It asking if You want to disable or enable networking.
    Going in there - it starts all over again.
    If the light i blinking yellowish in the CAT5-hole on the printer - you are connected via ethernet.
    Contact in - green - in side of CAT5 blinking yellowish showing it has contact with the computer.
    The green led is showing "i'm ready for networking - just configure Your computer"so we can talk".

    By telling the printer again "do networking" and You have a star to the right of "networking" panel You can go back to "Panel" and check that the already given IP, Subnet mask and Gateway still are there.

    So - green light - seems as if Your printer is ready for being connected over network.
    When You have real "talking contact" a yellow led should blink.

    Is the no way to create a new emty printer in Your OP-system? If - You have the epson printer drivers INSTALLED - then check "properties" for that empty printer and check for "connection" -
    This shuld/could happen
    1/ PNP suggest the 3880 in network
    2/ You tell the driver it's network
    3/ You are suggested/or are offered a port like mine "EPXXXX"-port where XXXX my vary

    The "idiots choice of connection type/protocol" in windows/linux etc is "Bonjour" you might have something like "apple talk".

    So - if....
    If You can see a yellow blink side of the cat5-contact on the printer - your OP-system is trying to talk to the printer.
    Green is only I'm ready for networking - come on!

    Now we can concentrate on the Mac!

    I thought Macs was premium state of the art PNP - things that started "apple talk" when the 3880 was delivered at the door...:celebrate screaming to be connected like some lovely girls in the old good times.


    Edit:
    By the way - in Epson menu there is a test-print thingie.
    MENU--->Test Print--->Network Status Print...do that.
    It prints out two to three pages information about the 3880 printers network status and network settings. I'll might ask You about some things there later on!

    Also in network setup there is a "Enable AppleTalk" - set both that and "Bonjour".
    "EpsonNet setup" might see that as well - however first You must have a printer in Mac OP-system in "devices-section". There must be a "add" a or "+ = plus" or in the drop downs "add a new device/printer" in that very op-section. Be SURE you have installed the proper Epson 3880 drives before that and restarted. (Not necessary the EpsonNet Config")

    And then this:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203343

    (I thought real printing snobs was using Macs - cant You ask Your computer assistants to help Harry ? :hide)
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
    The Hat likes this.

Share This Page