How to refill / reset a Canon Pixma MX860 cartridge?

AmbassadorDave

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
This is my first post to this forum, although I've been a lurker for quite a while now. This is a great place, I wouldn't be doing my own ink refills without it. The reason for my post is this, I've purchased a Canon Pixma MX860 and I'm looking for help on how to refill / reset the new CLI-221 / PGI-220 carts.

My previous printer is a MP760 (sadly failed) and I have some experience refilling its cartridges. From posts here, I see the MX860 has smaller, chipped cartridges. I plan to learn the 'German' method for refilling the OEM MX860 carts, which is frequently recommended here. What I can't find is how do you get around the chips?

I've tried to piece this together from various threads, coming up with three possibilities:

1. Turn off the ink monitor on the printer and be vigilant about monitoring the ink levels manually.

2. Replace the chips with auto-resettable chips and maintain power to the printer.

3. Purchase a chip resetter and reset the OEM chips with every refill.

(perhaps I missed a fourth possibility?)

The third option, a chip resetter, appears the 'best' desired solution, yet potentially unachievable today with the MX860 / CLI-221 / PGI-220.

I find one chip resetter (possibly by Artech) for these cartridges at RJet-Tek for $75.78. Yet I cannot find any reviews about this model.

Then there is the Peach resetter for the CLI-521 / PGI-520 carts, as well reviewed by Pharmacist. The trouble with it is a) it may not work with the US version of the cartridges and b) it may be very difficult to get in the US (I contacted the very nice Andreas Zenkel at tintenalarm.de who advised me they do not ship to the US).

So, what do those of you refilling MX860 printers do?

I appreciate any and all advice here, Canon has sure made refilling this newer model more difficult than the MP760!

Thanks,
Dave

ornurse362

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score