How bad are aftermarket clear refillable cartridges compared to OEM?

troy14

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hey everyone, after deciding against cutting my printer for a CIS (because I do not want to leave the lid open) I am now in a debate.

My question is the title: Are the aftermarket clear canon cartridges that bad??? Reading about them compared to OEM is one thing, I understand OEM will be the best. I am a college student who will print a lot of color powerpoint slides, quality isn't that important to me as long as they look like what they're supposed to.

I was thinking of getting 2 sets of these http://www.inkproducts.com/ink-store441/product.php?productid=198&page=1 or something equivalent from eBay (to have one set as a backup) with the easy refill bottles (no syringes I want to have as little mess as possible and easiest refilling)...

My other option is to just return this MX892 (I got it on sale for $130!) and get the Epson Workforce 845 with a CIS system and forget about it. I really love the way this MX892 printer looks, operates, and the controls. The Epson Workforce is bigger, uglier, I don't like the all-touch screen controls... but it holds 500 sheets of paper, and Epson with a CIS might mean trouble free hassle free reliability....

I want low, low maintenance printing for hundreds of sheets of paper.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
troy14
Aftermarket refillable cartridges do work well and thats all that can be said for them,
now longevity and reliability thats a different kettle of fish.

If you print occasionally then they may be worth it and youre not depending on them,
but if you intend to do a lot of work with your printer (And you do) the only reliable cartridge to use has to be OEM (2 sets).

There is no substitute for OEM quality cartridges they will last as long as the printer itself,