Help Diagnosing B200 Error on Canon Pixma Pro-1

MichaelDargan

Printing Apprentice
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Points
10
Location
Retired
Printer Model
Canon Pro-1, Artisan 730
I became the owner of a Canon Pro-1 recently when a neighbour gave it to me. It has only had original Canon PGI-29 inks used in it but the printer had not been used much when I got it so I was cautious about its value. I could see the inks were low even though he had bought a new set of original inks and I had to use the Resume button to force print on A4 paper so I could decide whether to commit to use it. (I have an SLR Nikon D750 now but have come up through the digital ladder from the early D70) The few A4 prints I made were good enough to make me want to use its A3 capability so I could see some of the photos I had taken over the years from travel at the A3 size so I went and bought a full set of original inks and replaced them two days ago (very expensive over $400AUD). I did some test prints and then decided to do an A3 BW print of a scene I really like and after 20% of the print on Platinum Pro Canon PT-101 paper (also very expensive) the printer threw up the B200 message on my computer and the paper stopped in the printer. I am really, really annoyed with this printer as a result. My other truly trusty, and I have to say remarkable printer is an Epson Artisan 730 with a CISS system attached. I have had it for years now and it hasn't missed a beat. I have also had Canon printers (the 4200 model x 2) so I am not anti Canon by any means but from what I am reading here there is not much I can do to resolve the issue. Much of the suggestions are hit and miss solutions, which I will try of course, but a replacement print head seems the only real solution and I cannot find anywhere to purchase one. The only price of an out of stock item is close to $500AUD. This may not solve the problem either and I will have wasted many dollars on this exercise. Considering the experience I have had so far I can only sympathise with others who see this error message.
 

MichaelDargan

Printing Apprentice
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Points
10
Location
Retired
Printer Model
Canon Pro-1, Artisan 730
Further to my post above on the B200 error. I sourced an OEM printhead and installed it but now have an ERO=5205 and ERO=5206 fault from the Service Tool which seems to indicate a logic board issue. The MBK ink cartridge was not full when all inks were replaced but still relatively new, but even after replacing it with a new cartridge MBK it still will not print the black in a test print using the Service Tool. We cannot get the computer/printer to recognise each other either. This is a real chicken and egg issue. You cannot get the printer to activate until you replace the print head, then you have the same problem because it could be a mother board issue and those faults only appear after printhead replacement. Perhaps this printer is just too complex for its own good.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,800
Reaction score
5,521
Points
403
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
@MichaelDargan, You were trying to use a sledgehammer to crack a peanut, and your end results prove this 100%.

You tried to run before you could walk, first off you should have asked for help on how to proceed safely with your new printer purchase, but instead you overrode the ink monitor and started to print before you checked anything out first.

The Pro1 is not your average desktop printer and you can’t treat it as if it was a iP4200, it has (AI built in) and it is very intelligent so it won’t let you do all the normal things you can do to the old inkjet printers, like changing the print head.

Your two fatal error are showing up as 5205 /5206 which means your print head is not installed or is installed incorrectly, nor should you have gone near the printer with any Service Tool to fix this problem..

As to whether you can now save the printer is anyone guess, but either ways it’s going to waste all the ink in your new cartridges if you attempt another recuse..
You went to this thread first but diden't go any further or ask for help why ?, nor did you read the cautions therein.
https://www.printerknowledge.com/threads/pixma-pro-1-b200-error.12487/
 

MichaelDargan

Printing Apprentice
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Points
10
Location
Retired
Printer Model
Canon Pro-1, Artisan 730
Well, thanks for the reply. I can see my statement above was somewhat ambiguous. I didn't install the new print head personally, a Canon technician did using the Service Tool software. I cannot access the Software Tool in any case as Canon licences its use to authorised technicians here in Australia. I am certainly aware it is rather complex as a printer, some might argue unnecessarily so, I think I certainly could do so, it is also amazingly slow in just about everything it does, which makes me wonder just how much AI it supposedly has. I did go to that thread you referred to and looked at other sources which is why I eventually went to the Canon outlet to source a print head and get them to install it. Having spent close to the cost of a new printer because I am in a Catch 22 situation I am rather peeved with the printer. You cannot ascertain that you have a logic board fault until you spend the money to install the new print head. Once you do that and one of the jets does not fire in a test print (the MBK cartridge) then the other faults emerge. It also wont let the computer communicate with the printer, or vice versa which means you have to have the Software Tool to access the fault codes or even print a test page. This printer isn't very consumer friendly by any means given my experience so far. This might help other readers in the same situation make a decision so that is why I posted my experience. At the moment I have an A4 print and my outlay has been over $800AUD. Its very nice, but I cant help thinking an SC-P600 with a CISS connected, even though it has less cartridges might have been a more robust choice. Luckily I can afford to do this and doggedly pursue an outcome but I know others may not have that option and could be drawn in without understanding the commitment involved. I can understand why people use after market inks for example when faced with such consumable costs. Whatever the outcome this is an interesting website and I am glad I found it as there seems to be a plethora of information available.
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,354
Reaction score
4,461
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MP830, Pencil
I didn't install the new print head personally, a Canon technician did using the Service Tool software.
you have to have the Software Tool to access the fault codes or even print a test page
What did the Canon Tech say? Since he installed the print head and was using a Service Tool he should be able to diagnose the problem on the spot and fix it. :idunno
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,800
Reaction score
5,521
Points
403
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
I eventually went to the Canon outlet to source a print head and get them to install it.
I would run back to that authorised service agent and dump the printer in his lap, because if that how it was returned to you then he is solely responsible for its current condition.

Yes the printer is very intelligent and maybe that’s the trouble because this Gobshite seems to have far less intelligence then the Feckin printer has.

That printer should have been returned to you in a pristine condition, (Like new) i.e. when changing the print head they are obliged to also replace the logic board and reset the ink counters and if necessary replace the waste ink cartridge. (Depending of useage)

I’d sue the bastards for a new printer…

Had you asked for help here, we could have supplied you with all the necessary know how and probably saved both you and your printer, when diagnosing a problem on this printer, it is imperative to take baby steps because even the smallest details are important, when dealing with a quite hoor…

And always rely a friend called patience..
 

MichaelDargan

Printing Apprentice
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Points
10
Location
Retired
Printer Model
Canon Pro-1, Artisan 730
An update. The next step is a new logic board is being installed. If this doesn’t work (another $300) I will be taking the item to the nearest cliff and waving goodbye to it.
 

James Michael L. Acierto

Getting Fingers Dirty
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
20
Reaction score
16
Points
40
Location
Caloocan
Printer Model
Canon MG6270;MG5620
Our MG6270 had felt tape on the logic board that seemed to have absorbed enough moisture(one tape on the back of the logic board had a red mark from the water indicator but no water marks in the chassis to suggest water damage) to cause it to develop intermittent B200 errors.Removing all the felt tape removed the b200 errors(for now atleast but 30 minutes has passed and the printer is sitting idle happily waiting for its next print.)

here's one of the tape i removed that tripped one of the damage indicator on the board
upload_2019-10-17_9-48-53.png

seems to be that my printer was likely stored in a damp place prior to us getting it.
 

MichaelDargan

Printing Apprentice
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Points
10
Location
Retired
Printer Model
Canon Pro-1, Artisan 730
Interesting, but I cannot confirm if this was an issue as the printer is with the agent getting fixed. One analogy that has occurred to me regarding the Pro-1 is that of your 'grandfathers axe' , by the time I have replaced everything it will be new again.
 
Top