Epson Photo Stylus 1400 Reset

rckowal

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I have been using a CIS for several years problem free, then I ran into the "Service Required" issue. It was easy enough to reset the waste ink counter using the Epson utility provided for this job. Concurrently, I removed the CIS ink cartridge set to do "some house cleaning" inside of the carraige.

After re-installing them, the printer will not recognize the CIS cartridges that worked well until the waste ink reset. To see if the printer would recognize OEM Epson cartridges; I installed an old (2 - 3 year) set that I had on hand. It would not recognize them as well, even though they had the OEM chips on them.

What's going on here? Will I need to reset the CIS ink cartridge chips with a manual resetting tool, or do some thing else? How about the old cartridges, can they be reset with the same resetting tool?

Best regards, Richard

rckowal

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
mikling said:
What "house cleaning" was done?

I need the details.
Thanks for replying Mikling. Are these the "details" you need? Just so you're aware, I have done such cleanings a number of times before on this & other Epson printers (including Epson 700, 1200, 1270) as well.

Old ink inside of the carriage as well as on the cartridge chip contacts were gently cleaned with commercial cleaning solution & ear swabs. Wire chip contacts were not bent or damaged in the process.

Sponge in the ink parking pad was flushed with cleaning solution into the waste ink tank. Paper rail was cleaned of dust & some old ink accumulation.

Regards, Richard

pharmacist

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson SC-P800,WF-7840,XP-15000
Did you install a waste ink bottle by redirecting the internal waste ink tube into this bottle to keep the internal absorption sponge as clean as possible ? This is very important for Epson printers.

rckowal

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
pharmacist said: