Epson L130 for T-shirt Transfers

Ayman

Print Lurker
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson L130
Hi,

I am a newbie in the T-shirt printing business.. just bought an Epson L130 and figured out that I better have bought one that uses Pigment ink.

Which do you think is better; to get an Epson printer that uses the DuraBrite ultra pigment ink like the "Epson stylus C88+" or is it better to fill the L130 I have with Pigment ink ?

Ayman

Ink stained Fingers

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
L805, WF2010, ET8550
I think you should check the various options for T-Shirt print, the classic approach is the sublimation process, you use a special sublimation ink and print onto a transfer sheet, and the ink is transferred from there onto the fabric with a heat press. This requires fabrics with a min of 50% polyester. There are specially modified printers on the market for a direct print to garment -DTG process , but this as well works with a special ink set. The standard ink sets -dye or pigment - don't give professional results - the inks easily wash out or fade away. So the choice of the necessary hardware should be driven by your plans including considerations of the business volume . Are you planning to print on demand - or preproduce particular production runs - e.g. 10 of each motive and size ?
The C88 is a long gone old printer model, there are today other printers running with the Durabrite pigment ink set by Epson.

Last edited:

akramjef

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
epson p50 printer
I agree with ink stained fingers,printing on fabrics require a minimum of 50% polyester content, the more polyester content the better the result, or use polymer coated fabrics. the printing process is by sublimation ink if you want long lasting printing , this sublimation guide will help you in your project.

http://www.printerknowledge.com/members/ink-stained-fingers.11691/

Attachments

• sublimation_guide_2015_update_-_en_web.pdf