Colormunki II? New x-rite "i1studio"

Ink stained Fingers

Printer Master
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
3,390
Reaction score
3,658
Points
283
Location
Germany
Printer Model
L310/805/1800, P400, Pro7600
You should be able to assign a profile to a scanner via the Windows - devices - scanner xxx - properties - color management function, but that's pretty much permanent then, and application program independent.
 

martin0reg

Printer Master
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
1,052
Reaction score
737
Points
263
Location
Germany Ruhrgebiet
...
Now I have just to find how I enter the profile name in the scanner software, not immediately obvious in the Epson software.
As far as I know (!)
If you have named your profile in the last window of i1studio, then it will be stored/saved/installed in the system folder (path for windows see above). It's the same as with the "photo" software for CM.
Applying a certain icc while using a printer (output device) is done by the OS or printer driver or editor... Applying a certain icc while using a scanner (input device) may be done by OS or scanner software.
Also by editor..? I'm not sure... Remember it's an input device not output. I have used only the the scanner software, which offers a "color preference" tab, where you can browse the icc folder annd set a certain icc.

Never give up Martin.:)
No I won't, as long as I get your support..:)
But i have to make some break, my renewed wet darkroom is waiting! Much more hardware related... can't wait to develop and enlarge real film negatives, after 30 years idle time of my "analogue" devices
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,076
Reaction score
5,744
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon ? + 3D, CR-10.
It seems that Epson do not provide a facility to store or associate the profile with the scanner software.
On my Epson 4490 scanner, I can save two file setting, and VueScan have also far more settings to tweak than Epson Scan...
 

pharmacist

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
2,271
Reaction score
841
Points
293
Location
Ghent, Belgium
Printer Model
Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
I am getting bad results with the black and white profile. I will post the results later. It looks like the software uses the ArgyllCMS engine to generate patches, including the black and white separation bars between color patches.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,117
Reaction score
1,245
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Is it possible to install and use the i1studio software beside the Original CM ?
 

pharmacist

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
2,271
Reaction score
841
Points
293
Location
Ghent, Belgium
Printer Model
Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
The B&W profile will print two extra secondary charts with more grey ramps to neutralise B&W prints. The standard profile is will start with the same primary target and will only generate one secondary chart. I compared the colors of the targets and they are the same as with the older CM software, but the patches are now square instead of arrow-like.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,117
Reaction score
1,245
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Yes I did and both worked on windows 10
I did a display profile. Software is different (118 patches) but the result was the same.

Printer colour profile was OK too. Only wonder why there are small black lines around some patches.
 

Attachments

pharmacist

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
2,271
Reaction score
841
Points
293
Location
Ghent, Belgium
Printer Model
Epson Pro 3880, P800, WF-7525
I did a display profile. Software is different (118 patches) but the result was the same.

Printer colour profile was OK too. Only wonder why there are small black lines around some patches.
That black line is to make difference between two adjacent patches that more or less has the same color, in order the Colormunki does not sees the two patches as the same color. ArgyllCMS is also using this system so there is a sharp difference between patches. The software recognizes the black or white line as a border color and will know that there is a different color patch to follow. Especially with a gray ramp without spaces or black line, the colormunki might see only one patch.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,117
Reaction score
1,245
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
That black line is to make difference between two adjacent patches that more or less has the same color, in order the Colormunki does not sees the two patches as the same color. ArgyllCMS is also using this system so there is a sharp difference between patches. The software recognizes the black or white line as a border color and will know that there is a different color patch to follow. Especially with a gray ramp without spaces or black line, the colormunki might see only one patch.
Yep, but I had several warnings reading 11 patches i.o. 10.

Nice software, retains the printer settings 2 on a page for the second test chart .

Of record, see the (quasi unexistant) gloss differences of the actual PRO9500 Precision Colors ink set on the old Ilford Pearl paper from the Marly factory. No need for gloss optimiser.

IMG_4727.JPG
 
Top