Canon releases new firmware for Pixma PRO 10s

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,764
Reaction score
4,892
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
Thanks for the literal transcription.
You're welcome.

I wish I had the time to type a transcript of the entire 3 hours, 28 minutes and 6 seconds but the darn Coronavirus "stay in home" orders the governor announced means there is too much other stuff I'd rather be doing. ;)
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,393
Reaction score
6,027
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
I suppose I found it somewhere in the manual
Maybe it doesn't apply to your model.
When you register the paper size and the media type, the screen to select whether you apply the settings to those for copying is displayed. Select Yes to apply the registered settings to copying.
I followed you instructions to the letter, Thank you Palombian, but I don’t get anything other than registering the paper type and size.. So I’m none the wiser.. :hu

I reckon this Canon firmware story is getting out of hand altogether, The firmware inside the printer can only control the printer and not the OEM cartridges or chips, and if Canon could by some magic, interfere with these two separate procedures then the whole world would come down on them, the firmware is their property yes, but the carts are ours..

The Canon cartridge chip on the PGl-72 cannot be interfered period, because that’s where Canon make all their money from, only about 5% of Pro 10 owners actually use third party ink, so why would Canon spend millions developing new chips when there are tens of millions of PGl-72 carts already in the market place with a chip that can be reset..

I reckon somebody is making air time… o_O
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
373
Reaction score
358
Points
198
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
How do you know for sure that current PGI-72 chips can’t be modified by the printer ?.
Redsetters modify those chips to full condition. Hypothetically, a new firmware could change some vital code in the chip when it reaches empty, so that an external resetter is fooled and can’t detect the chip anymore, hence it’s unable to reset it.
Maybe this is not possible but we don’t know yet. Nobody from Canon will say ‘Hooray, our new clever firmware defeats third party chips and OEM resetters’.
Only reliable feedback from a significant number of people who refills and will dare to update their machines will be able to tell us. Possibly it’s only an update that really improves a bit the functionality of the printer with no ill effects for third party users.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
I followed you instructions to the letter, Thank you Palombian, but I don’t get anything other than registering the paper type and size.. So I’m none the wiser.. :hu

I reckon this Canon firmware story is getting out of hand altogether, The firmware inside the printer can only control the printer and not the OEM cartridges or chips, and if Canon could by some magic, interfere with these two separate procedures then the whole world would come down on them, the firmware is their property yes, but the carts are ours..

The Canon cartridge chip on the PGl-72 cannot be interfered period, because that’s where Canon make all their money from, only about 5% of Pro 10 owners actually use third party ink, so why would Canon spend millions developing new chips when there are tens of millions of PGl-72 carts already in the market place with a chip that can be reset..

I reckon somebody is making air time… o_O
I really don't remember how I fixed the Maxify warning, Hat, when I find it back I'll tell you.

No idea what can be programmed in firmware, and if a resetted cart can be distinguished from a factory new one (not impossible, in my experience resetted carts show empty a few ml earlier than new OEM's).

A new firmware on a printer of this age can be an indication Canon does not plan a successor soon.
Or maybe a Mark II with some new features.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,393
Reaction score
6,027
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
How do you know for sure that current PGI-72 chips can’t be modified by the printer ?.
Redsetters modify those chips to full condition.
That’s impossible because the cartridge chip has no electrical connection to the printer at all, the system can only read the chip by way of a laser it doesn’t have the ability to write to the chip, it would need physical electrical contact to do that, like the way the redsetter does.

As to why they don’t change their chips, again it’s probably down to the costs involved, it can get very prohibitive and only waste more dollars doing so, because so little refilling takes place anyway..

When they first made the Pro 9500, they didn’t even use new chips for the PGl-9 carts, but instead they used CLl-8 chips, again the costs of making new chip codes must have been the reason.. Expensive…
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
373
Reaction score
358
Points
198
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
Sorry, but you’re wrong. The chip of each cartridge makes electrical contact with four pins on the carriage. Those are connected through internal cabling to the logic board of the printer. Remove one cartridge and you’ll see beneath, where the chip contacts sit, four tiny brass wires. If you cut one of these wires the cart won't be recognized by the printer. It happened to me once with a Pro9000. One of the wires was corroded inside the carriage by leaked ink and I had to retire the printer.

And no need to make new chip codes, just let a new sneaky firmware ‘kill’ the chip once it has been declared empty by the driver, be it a third party or OEM chip.
I’m not saying that this will happen in the near future, but maybe I shouldn’t give ideas to Canon. :D
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,393
Reaction score
6,027
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
Sorry, but you’re wrong.
I admit my explanation was lousy, but the printer only needs to know the proper chip is there.. I and many others would love to know just how the chips really works.. The sad part is I don’t despite extensive experimenting and eventual failure.. :(
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
A regular poster on dpreview reported he upgraded the firmware on his PRO-100 and had no issues with the carts resetted and refilled with Precision Colors ink.
The firmware update is issued the same date and with the same general description as the PRO-10.
Since the PRO-100 is a PRO-10 with 2 ink outlets disabled probably the firmware shares most of the code.

Maybe the reason is just a security fix ?
Wait and see ...
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,393
Reaction score
6,027
Points
413
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
Maybe the reason is just a security fix ?
That’s most likely the reason, Canon always try and block all interference from any owner, because the printer can’t tell the difference between a reset or a new chip…
P. S. Apparently there are some guys that reckon the printer can tell when you’re not using OEM ink.
. :)
 
Top