Canon PIXMA IP5000

Rooster

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Ok, please bear with me because I'm not too experienced at cleaning/maintaining/altering printer! I have a Canon IP5000. Recently printing some pages of text, the text was coming out streaky as if the cartridge was running low. I checked the cartridge concerned (the larger black one) and it was less than half full, but definitley not empty. I persisted for a while, but with no improvement, so eventually gave in and installed a new cartridge, but with the same results. Does my print head need cleaning? If so, where do I find it (!), and how should I clean it?

Hope someone can help me out!

PS: Printing with any of the other cartridges (ie in colour) is fine.

Manuchau

Printer Guru
Reaction score
A head cleaning or 2 is definitely worth a try....as is printing a purge page. If your colours are fine, just draw a box and fill it with black, then print it out. This often does the trick. If it doesn't, then please re-post here.
Purge pages are easily found online,..here is a series which should come in handy http://www.inksupply.com/html/zip/purge.zip

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
If the nozzles that use the bci-3ebk cart are actually clogged you would best run a cleaning cycle or two rather than printing a purge page. I believe that the ip5000 can run a separate cleaning cycle for either the black bci-3ebk or the four photo color carts. You find the head cleaning utilities by cllicking Start - settings - printers - click on the printer in question, click on properties, do the head cleaning routine and do a nozzle check. You can do a few regular and one or two deep cleanings, but more will probably do no better. Do a nozzle check after each cleaning. Still a poor nozzle check? Click on the FAQ section at the top of the forum page and read through the first FAQ - what to do when your printer isn't printing properly.

Rooster

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score