Advice needed

mr500cm

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm Lance and I'm a professional photographer with over 30 years experience. I am new to inkjet printing, I was just given an Epson Pro 4800 printer and really need some advice. There is a full set of OEM inks that were included but no paper. I like luster aka "E" paper the best. am I best sticking with Epson paper or are there others that are as good or better and are reasonably priced? Inks, I know that this printer is going to suck down ink like water, should I consider refilling or try and find deals on genunie Epson ink? If not what brands are good. I know its a lot to toss out right now but I have this beast out of the box and I'm itching to try it. At the same time I don't want to drain my wallet too. Any advice you can give me would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lance :)

lotsawa

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
I use a 3880 with refillable cartridges. It's a bit of work to prepare the cartridges (you have to take the chip off the OEM cartridges and install them in the refillables, than you have to fill them properly) and I did have some minor problems with cartridges that had not been recognized by the printer sometimes, but it's all manageable and the system works (maybe it's not meant for the faint hearted). The ink is great.

BUT: the colours of the ink that I use (Photochrome) are not 100% the same as the original Epson colours. So for exact colour rendering you need proper profiles. My ink dealer provides profiles for the Epson paper, but of course not for all the other papers on the market.

From the part of the paper dealers (I use Hahnemhle for example, or cheaper papers called "Photolux") it's the other way round: They provide profiles for they paper if you use original Epson ink, but of course they don't provide profiles for other types of ink.