which AIO to buy which offers best cart refill ??

thexplanet

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a newbie to this forum,

Sorry if i am asking this question again, if already asked, as i cant find the same question.

okay, here is what I am looking for:-

I am planning to buy a All-in-One Inkjet with scan -print -copy options.
and I am looking for either HP 2120 OR Lexmark X4650 models.

Is anyone experienced with refilling the above, and how and which ones are economical and easy to refill.

My major use will be for Copy and Print Only, less scanning

Please guide me with your experiences.

Thanks in advance.

embguy

Printer Guru
Reaction score
I don't know anything about the printer that you mentioned. I can give you the owner's view of Canon MX-850 AIO.

1. It has network interface. All computer in my house can share this printer.
2. Double-sided ADF allows me to copy 2-sided document with ease. Save me time by not copy one side at a time and collated them afterward. Just hit the copy button and do something else. It does double sided scanning too.
3. It uses PGI-8 and CLI-5 chipped cartridges. The chip resetter is cheap - less than $20. Refill information is available on this forum. Lots of information in this forum on unclogging Canon printhead if I ever need help.

These are the main reasons that I purchased this AIO.

Please noted that I have bias toward Canon printer after using HP, Lexmark, Epson and Brother printers. You do your own research and make your own decision.

embguy

Printer Guru
Reaction score
The reason that I do not like other inkjet manufactures:

Brother AIO:
The printhead and the ink tank are piped with tubing similar to CIS configuration. It is very hard to get at the purge pad and the printhead to do unclogging. Replace printhead in not a few minute job like Canon.

HP AIO: