The Epson R3000 refillable cartridge... exposed and explained.

nertog

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson R3000 - PX720 - P50
ntux said:
Thank a lot !

So, for you, what would be the steps to follow to ensure that the cartridge is correctly filled? Especially regarding the damper reservoir?

Also (this may be a dumb question), does one need negative pressure in the cardridge when operating? Does that means that the air intake plug should be left there when the cartridge is in the printer? Or, as with other refillable cartridges, the air plug should only be present when the cartridge is out of the printer? (removed when the cartridge is in the printer?)

Sorry if this sounds dumb, but I'm a bit a newbie regarding refillable cartridges, and wouldn't want to damage my brand new r3000 :p

Thanks!
Same questions here, especially regarding the priming procedure. Are these filled with the syringe vacuum method or would that damage the plastic foil?

mikling

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Well to ship my cartridges and retain the seals on the cartridges I have a vacuum chamber powered by a lab grade Gast vacuum pump. The skins never see a dramatic pressure differential. It is totally safe and never stresses the skins.

If you want to prime manually, you can do so via the reverse fill through the outlet with a lot of ink in a gush to force it in. That intrinsically can be messy. So that is why I deliver them prefilled and preprimed and involves work and not just popping ink into the cartridge or selling them to customers and leaving the details in "their hands". This is really the only proper way to deliver them ready to use and the reason I don't generally like to deliver "empties" because it inevitably leads to service issues.

Negative pressure is required to operate and that is why the check valves are there. The initial prime and subsequent mini prime when the printer starts up will provide and maintain this.