Spyder3Print SR or Colormunki Photo for printer profiles?

tony22

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Anybody have firsthand exeprience on these two? Wondering which system is capable (taking into account using it properly and understanding color management) of producing more reliable printer profiles.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
This thread discusses your question and may be of interest.

I have no experience with either of these devices, but here is an old thread on the comparison of a spectrophotometer and a spectrocolorimeter for generating printer profiles (using older hardware). The Spyder3 is a spectrocolorimeter according to this link, while the Colormunki is a spectrophotometer according to this link. I'm not exactly in love with using only 50 patches for the Colormunki, however and the need to do a two stage process to profile a printer.

tony22

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Thanks Grandad35. The dpreview thread seems mostly to be about either tool for its monitor profiling capability. On the B&H website there was one review from someone who actually used both as a printer profiling tool and in this case the user claimed "Between this and the Colormunki, i choose this because it gives more accurate colors than the colormunki and it is faster to setup." OTOH a dpreview member claimed he liked the color outcome from the Colormunki better, but it sounded like he hadn't had any experience with the current Spyder3Print SR.

Sigh, the bottom line though seems to be (as you suggested) the difference between a true spectrophotometer and a spectrocolorimeter. On that alone I would go with the Colormunki, but in all the reviewer and owner reviews I've seen it seems like it's at best "okay", with a percentage of detractors.

mikling

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/reviews.html is a good starting point.