SkyHorse BCI-3bk refill problem [a bit long]

anddam

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi,
I have been using my ip3000 for almost 2 years now, I print lot of text on plain A4 paper 80g/m^2 and that's why I choose 3000 over 4000, it had only BCI-3bk and I wanted the simplest refilling and 1 kind of black (I tought) is easier than 2.

I was using 3rd party cartridge and refilled them with black ink from I had spare from a dead Epson Stylus Color, so far it never disappointed me even if I eventually discovered the difference between Canon's thermal head and Epson's piezo.
I bought what was advertised as Canon BCI-3bk specific ink only to discover later that it was dye based rather than pigment, anyway I've got plenty of it and it was cheap so I'm using it.

Recently I found SkyHorse cartridges that have the great pro of a square base rather than just classic orange clip so I bought a few of them, I noticed that using SkyHorse carts with refilled dye ink lead me to (very) frequent head cleaning as the printers start to miss rows of text.
A quick clean solve the problem but I have never got such a problem before, could it be something related to the mix of dye ink into a cartridge that holded pigment?
Is there a SkyHorse BCI-3BK cart specific problem feeding the headset?

By the way since I installed SkyHorse BCI-3BK I experienced a yellow cartridge turned black too, I made a search on forum and found it could be a leaky cartridge, probably black. On forum I even found that SkyHorse "pipe" (part where cartridge touch the headset) is shorter than Canon's oem carts and actually confronted carts I have, SkyHorse's seem to be a little shorter in that way.
Anyway I had serious leaking problem, and by serious I mean ink leaking through the headset.

I tried to wash a SkyHorse cartridge before refilling using water and ammonia, but I couldn't made the upper sponge clean (there are two), it stayed black while I saw cleaned cartridges on this forum with white sponge.