should I replace my Canon MX850?

pvrbulls

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MG5320
I have been refilling CLI-8/PGI-5 carts since 2007 (using first the top fill method and then the German method) for a Canon 4300; for over two years I never had any problems. In July, 2009 I bought a MX850 because I thought I needed an all-in-one. At the same time I ordered a new batch of Hobbicolors ink(I have used Hobbicolors inks for years.) Almost immediately I started having problems with the yellow nozzles clogging. Thinking that I had gotten a defective head, in December, 2009 I bought another head for the 850 which, like the previous one, started clogging(yellow only) almost immediately. I have used it since then essentially without the benefit of yellow ink. I don't know for sure what the problem was/is, but I suspect a bad batch of yellow ink or perhaps the smaller(than the 4300) nozzles on the 850 won't handle that particular ink. Heck, perhaps something was "growing" in my yellow carts! Anyway, up to now I have had no problems at all with the other colors on the 850. Upon refilling this weekend, it seems that the PGI-5 black is now at least partially clogged(I tried a second cartridge with identical results).

The cost of a new head for the 850 will be at least $75 delivered and it is time to order a new batch of ink. Right now, the MX870 is available from Staples for $100(after rebate) delivered. I have a lot of questions.
First, does the MX850 have any kind of a reputation(either good or bad) as it relates to refilling.
Second, is the MX870 thought to be a good printer as it relates to refilling? I know it uses the CLI-221 carts.
Are they about the same as the CLI-8's as far as refilling is concerned?
Is the capacity of the CLI-221 less that the CLI-8?
Is there another all-in-one printer that is known to be particularly reliable and easy to refill? I am not married to Canon or the MX series.