Restoring INK monitoring on ip4300

narmenia

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Can anyone help in restoring ink monitoring on an ip4300?
I need to send the whole unit to canon (philippines) for a head replacement.

Thanks

billkunert

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
HP Envy 5530e
As far as I know the only way is to put a set of OEM cartridges in it. I wouldn't try the refilled and reset cartridges. The printer will still have logged that at one time the ink level monitoring was disabled.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
narmenia said:
Can anyone help in restoring ink monitoring on an ip4300?
I need to send the whole unit to canon (philippines) for a head replacement.
I have zero actual knowledge on this subject, but it is hard to believe that Canon would go to all of this trouble to record the use of refilled/CIS carts and have you agree that such use voids the warranty and then discard that information just because a set of OEM carts was reinstalled. I'm afraid that when you agreed to void the warranty that this fact was permanently recorded in the printer's memory and that you have forfeited all claims for warranty repairs on that printer.

billkunert

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
HP Envy 5530e
Not necessarily. If I remember correctly the wording is that the warranty can be voided if the refilled cartridges damage the printer. in the case here that may be what Canon will assume since it's the printhead that's bad.

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
In the past Canon accepted the purchaser's word that the printhead needed replacing without sending the printer in for printhead replacement. Is this a new policy or is it peculiar to the Phillipines?

narmenia

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
it's what canon wants... from what the store i purchased the unit from said...