purging and drying cli 8 oem carts

artise

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I have had some serious trouble with my cyan wicking into my brand new yellow cart. I've removed them and cleaned the piece that all the carts fit into per Neil's instructions. I then purged my troublesome carts and they came out nice and clean. I also blew through the top hole and tried to get as much water out as I could. Right now they are sitting up on their end and I don't know if I should just leave them to dry or what. Am I doing the right thing?
thanks
Canon pixma ip6700d

artise

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Grandad thanks for the info. I am really new at this and hope I am on the right track. I am wondering if I should soak my print head in alcohol. I did the air clean really really well but maybe missed some ink? I then purged my carts according to your directions. I am drying them and am not sure it is ok to just air dry them for a couple days. I keep blowing the water out of them each day. Then I can go ahead and refill them and everything should be ok???? I'm frustrated as I just bought the new yellow and it got ruined. It's awfully expensive buying all new carts but the cyan one seems to be the culprit from what I can figure. I've read so much on this forum that it confuses me so I am hoping that I am going to solve my problem. Can you tell me if I am on the right track here or point me to some clear information? thanks again.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
Try blotting up the extra ink in the pads as mentioned in this post, which I found using the forum's search feature.

There are more posts where this is discussed to give you more ideas.

jflan

Printing Ninja
Reaction score
artise said:
I have had some serious trouble with my cyan wicking into my brand new yellow cart.
Are these carts genuine Canon ?