1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: The Epson RPM quality option - does it offer a benefit ?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Problem with Netgear D6300 Modem

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by Emulator, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. Aug 18, 2014
    mikling

    mikling Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I have an older Linksys WRT54GL, one of the classics. It performed ok with the factory firmware but is rock solid with open source Tomato or DDWRT firmware. Once it was modded, it never hiccuped.

    For this reason, I will henceforth only purchase routers that DDWRT or Tomato supports...with more features to boot. Asus routers are the hot ones now and even Linksys brought out a new top end model, which the mfr openly claims is supported by Open source firmware. Why not? just make the hardware and let the open source guys refine it to their liking. Once modded warranties and support is over, so warranty cost is down and the buyer will pay a little more for being able to mod it.
     
    The Hat, Emulator and lowell374 like this.
  2. Aug 18, 2014
    lowell374

    lowell374 Fan of Printing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    FN10
    Printer Model:
    CanonPro-100, E2000p, LexMark
    I second that. Actually have two WRT54G's, one AccessPoint and one ClientBridge. But all of the stuff is wired; just used them to extend the range in this plaster lath and brick walled house :-(
     
    The Hat and Emulator like this.
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    :yuckyuck
     
    The Hat likes this.
  4. Aug 19, 2014
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    I like the bit about the Tomato sauce and hiccups.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  5. Aug 19, 2014
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,892
    Likes Received:
    4,848
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    We have one of these new Asus Duel Band routers but we also use a couple of Devole Micro link power line plugs any where we need an extended connection, my den is 20 metres from the house and I have no difficulty with reception.

    For the Wi-Fi Gurus they also come with Wi-Fi extenders so there’s no need to use a wire connection anywhere round the house, the option of fibre is available to us but wired is fast enough for my needs.
    Capture.PNG
     
  6. Aug 19, 2014
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    966
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    In fact tonight 19th August 0900 my signal is SO low that loading this site took 5min. and i can not get any signal for internet connection at all on the little 4G modem i use for my Table browsing.

    THIS IS UNUSUAL!!
     
  7. Aug 19, 2014
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    You must have a difficult location out there, how do you receive the internet signal, ADSL, satellite, microwave?

    Those WiFi extenders are a problem for everyone else. I get the neighbour's (opposite side of the road) signal stronger than my own (20 feet away), it comes out of all the mains wiring. Probably affects the whole road.
     
    3dogs likes this.
  8. Aug 20, 2014
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    966
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    We are in a country location some 11km from a major tower owned and operated by our previously Government owned telco. Since privatisation service, maintenance and performance have suffered seriously.
    Telstra in their wisedom (and using corporate foresight) used all the lines (spare wires) from our exchange to add additgional land lines on the cheap, done shortly AFTER privatisation.......Result, we cant get any service other than wireless, so I have ruddy great extension pole on the roof of the second storey with an antenna.
    I am actually line of sight to the tower, but for 5km of 120' plus trees between......with our system line of sight is essential, and goes pear shaped otherwise.
    At one stage Iwas getting 9kbsec download.......100kbs is acceptable 200-350 is good........saying that I have had 800kbs at 3am when the network was mine all mine.

    Monitors show up all manner ghosts that we cant locate, and have been unable to say for certain that they are syphoning data. Spyware shows nothing and the mereting from the Telco is what you would expect......zip!!!

    Till I located an older modem I had 5 replacedfor free by Telsta. These things sell for $250 each, to this day we havenot seen a tekkie to look at the cause..............they were all made redundant, no further use for them with the new SUPER technology....yea RIGHT!!
     
  9. Aug 20, 2014
    Emulator

    Emulator Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Location:
    UK
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro9000 II
    And we think we have problems!! We will forgive you everything if you have to suffer that.
     
    stratman, The Hat and 3dogs like this.
  10. Aug 20, 2014
    3dogs

    3dogs Printer Master

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    966
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Fern Hill, Australia
    Printer Model:
    Epson 3880. Canon Pro 9000,
    May be worth following up on the goss that the net is nearing overload. Apparently its a global issue with modem memory overload due to the sheer numbers of addresses. Apparently they (authoroties) are expecting this to last for a few months...

    Anybody heard anything like this? I caught the wrap up of a segment this afternoon. It was on the ABC radio so thats our BBC and itsnot April 1st............or is it and Im just befuddled.
     

Share This Page