Problem refilling PGI-5Bk

Andrew

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been refilling the cartridges of my old ip4000 for several years with no major dramas, so I expected to have no problems with the ip3300. However the (standard) PGI-5Bk cartridge does not seem to want to hold the ink in the sponge and it leaks out fairly quickly. I've been filling the cartridges in the same way by using the plug hole above the reservoir. I'm sealing the cartridges in the same way with little rubber plugs and then duct taping over the top. It is odd, because I never had leakage problems with the ip4000 cartridges.

Does anyone have any idea why this is?

canonfodder

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Which method did you use to open the plug hole? Did you push the ball in or extract it with a sharp screw?

Sometimes when the ball is driven in, there is damage to the opening by breaking away some of the plastic. This can lead to a poor seal by the rubber plug.

If the top of the rubber plug sticks up a bit, it may prevent the duct tape from doing the back-up seal you wanted. I would try the duct tape alone instead of the rubber plug plus the duct tape, just to see if there is any difference. The duct tape may not be too trustworthy, but this test could tell you if the rubber plug is not working as it should.

I have done successful sealing using a high quality electrical tape. Some good vinyl tapes seal well and don't ever leave a gum residue behind when peeled off. For long term usage, I prefer a stainless steel screw with little "O" ring.

avolanche

Print Addict
Reaction score
I agree with cannonfodder,use screws.It's gotta be an air leak(almost always into the reservoir unless you drilled a hole somewhere else).I don't use a o-ring,but use a #8 ss screw(from Lowes) that has a head with a tapered underside(not flat like a pan head).I feel like the taper gives a better seal.I,too,remove the "ball" and put the screw there.

Manuchau

Printer Guru
Reaction score