Pixma 4300 Firmware Dump

nanosec

Printer Guru
Reaction score
As luck or bad luck has it, I just trashed a printhead on a Pixma 4300.

I also have a chip reader.

If anyone is interested I can try pulling the flash chip off the Pixma 4300 and dumping the firmware for the printer.

The idea being a hacked firmware might be possible that allows printing while ignoring the chips and/or writing to the chip on the cartridges.

If anybody has any interest in this let me know and I'll attempt it. i will stipulate that if the flash chip is extremely
small I will probably have problems, but will have no problems donating the chip to somebody who feels up to the task of dumping the firmware.

I have no coding experience, just thought I'd offer the chance at a dumped bin for the printer.

Tin Ho

Print Addict
Reaction score
It is not easy to hack the firmware. Within the firmware it probably has a piece of code that checks the checksum of the code and compares it to a pre-calculated checksum data. If you alter any code it will upset this comparison which could lead to printer death. But if you pull the flash chip and install a socket for the chip then you can dump and make copies of the chip. If the hack somehow upsets the printer you can put one chip with an original copy of the firmware back and be happy again.

I believe you will be able to buy cheaply a used ip4300 on eBay with a bad print head in it sooner or later. People will put up a sale of one with a dead print head.

nospam2000

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi Tin Ho,

I would be very interested in a Firmware dump. A high resolution picture of the main board would be also very nice to figure out the used CPU type and other chips. Most probably highly integrated ICs are used. I haven't found any internals about the pixma hardware or firmware on the net.