Just ordered a canon mx850

Pattyannr

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
to replace my mp780 that I just loved.
The MP780 however gives me the message "wrong cartridge" and I have tried cleaning the printhead but it did not work. A new print head is over $50 on ebay and that still might not clear up the problem from what I have read, so just bought the mx850 because I understand the tanks are a bit bigger than the newer models.

With the MP780 I was able to buy cheap cartridges because they had no chip so I have no experience refilling tanks. I have been reading all I can find on the mx850 and understand that I will need to deal with the chips by paying through the nose for new tanks with the chips, removing chips from original tanks and gluing them on after market tanks, or buying a CIS system. I have also read some info on chip resetters, and I have also read info about now having to disable printer from readiing tanks??? This is all very confusing for someone who never had to refill before and am hoping for some basic advice from some of you experts that are familiar with the MX850.

I would truly appreciate any advice on refilling/dealing with chip for a novice, is CIS good or should I learn to change chips?
Do I need a solder? Do I need a resetter? Sneaky canon sticking a chip on the tanks when I had my head turned..................

Thank you very, very, much.

Manuchau

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Good choice..the MX850 has turned out to be one of Canon's better recent printers, according to customer surveys. You were wise to buy one now, as they will soon be gone from the market.

If you plan on refilling, you WILL need a chip resetter but after some practice, you will find these very easy to refill. If you don't want to refill, there are inexpensive compatibles around now, and they are still dropping slowly in price.

Welcome to this forum - you will find many people willing to help in any way they can.

embguy

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Pattyannr said: