Is it dead - Canon Pixma Pro 10-S, 26 flashes, error 6700

Artur5

Printer Master
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
963
Reaction score
1,152
Points
258
Location
Kmt. 0.
Printer Model
Canon MB5150,Pro10s,Prui3Mk3s+
You and the others at the 3D forum are 'guilty' for that.. :D
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,736
Reaction score
2,064
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
I wouldn’t say you’ll have any problems replacing the battery, it’s a matter of removing the clips on the top cover, and leaving the top cover in place loosely, next plug the printer back into wall socket then proceed with the battery removal..

But before I’d unplug the printer again I’d leave the top cover loosely on top again and power on the printer as a caution where you can check if your installation was successful, i.e. no on screen messages of pending doom like..
@palombian, your turn to be the Guinee pig this time.. :duc
P.S. I can't do it, I don't have the Pro 10...:)
I have two of them...
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,736
Reaction score
2,064
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
After rereading this thread some thoughts:

- TS mentioned he used older service tools, this blocks access forever, so later unsuccesful attempts (after disconnecting the battery) are not a proof the printer is dead
- the printer was flooded with ink so could have other damage
- an EEPROM is nonvolatile memory, even if something as a "live EEPROM" would exist it could not been kept alive for 10 years or more with a coin size battery
- the experience of @The Hat with his PRO-1 could suggest there is a trap, but I doubt he had a service tool at that time, so maybe the Canon engineer left him in the illusion only he could save the printer
- maybe the battery only keeps less vital information (as date and time, and probably the printer will give an error without) but this data can be restored with the correct service tool
- no reports of suddenly dying PRO-10's have been reported on specialized fora or to knowledgeable people
- the guinea pig is overseas now ;)
 
Last edited:

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
14,347
Reaction score
7,767
Points
433
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
- TS mentioned he used older service tools, this blocks access forever, so later unsuccesful attempts (after disconnecting the battery) are not a proof the printer is dead but this data can be restored with the correct service tool
Once the printer loses power then it cannot be revived with a newer service tool..
- an EEPROM is nonvolatile memory, even if something as a "live EEPROM" would exist it could not been kept alive for 10 years or more with a coin size battery
- the experience of @The Hat with his PRO-1 could suggest there is a trap, but I doubt he had a service tool at that time, so maybe the Canon engineer left him in the illusion only he could save the printer
Nope @palombian, your incorrect on most of that, the EPROM chip inside the Pro 1 must have some residual power to maintain its active memory functions, when it loses power, that section of memory is also lost, and can only be reprogramed with the necessary coded file..

Secondly I did have a proper functioning service tool (V3400) at that time and was able to carry out the necessary changes that I needed, and only later did I remove the top cover to install the Printer Potty..

When I originally took the printer to the Service Agents, they couldn’t reprogram the printer, because they didn’t have the file on hand and had to requested it from Japan, I was actually present at the time, otherwise I wouldn’t have believe it either.. So no spoofing on their part..

Here is the first test sheets printed and the reset waste ink % counter, using the service tool..
img165.jpgimg166.jpg
click to enlarge..
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,736
Reaction score
2,064
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
Once the printer loses power then it cannot be revived with a newer service tool..

Nope @palombian, your incorrect on most of that, the EPROM chip inside the Pro 1 must have some residual power to maintain its active memory functions, when it loses power, that section of memory is also lost, and can only be reprogramed with the necessary coded file..

Secondly I did have a proper functioning service tool (V3400) at that time and was able to carry out the necessary changes that I needed, and only later did I remove the top cover to install the Printer Potty..

When I originally took the printer to the Service Agents, they couldn’t reprogram the printer, because they didn’t have the file on hand and had to requested it from Japan, I was actually present at the time, otherwise I wouldn’t have believe it either.. So no spoofing on their part..

Here is the first test sheets printed and the reset waste ink % counter, using the service tool..
View attachment 13589View attachment 13590
click to enlarge..
I believe you, but what is true for the PRO-1 doesn't necessary apply to the PRO-10.

Since there are no PRO-9500's (we thought they would live forever) anymore, the PRO-10 is the best we have now to refill.
Crying wolf on every reported error because it happens to have a battery (as the PRO-1 that has bitten you and many others) doesn't help this case.
You told many years the waste counter of the PRO-10 (and PRO-100) could not be reset (until an innocent bystander reported here it could (and was verified afterwards).
It was found out also the PRO-300 uses the same printhead as the PRO-10 (same as for PRO-200 and PRO-100).
This battery issue is the last hurdle to insure the longevity of this printer.

BTW the Maxify has a battery too.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
14,347
Reaction score
7,767
Points
433
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
the PRO-10 is the best we have now to refill.
As far as the Pro 10 goes despite my misgivings, I’ve adapted to its unfamiliar ways now, and as you say it’s here to stay, plus I have acquired another new print head so I’m future proof and very happy to continue using her, the 9500 has become a thing of the past..
as the PRO-1 that has bitten you and many others) doesn't help this case.
The Pro 1 could be an argumentative bitch when you didn’t spend most of your time on it.. It suffered from the pampered pooch syndrome..
BTW the Maxify has a battery too.
P.S. Funny I pulled the Maxify apart when I first got it and the battery didn’t make itself visible to me..
:hide
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,736
Reaction score
2,064
Points
267
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO10,PRO9500II,MB5150,MG8250
As far as the Pro 10 goes despite my misgivings, I’ve adapted to its unfamiliar ways now, and as you say it’s here to stay, plus I have acquired another new print head so I’m future proof and very happy to continue using her, the 9500 has become a thing of the past..

The Pro 1 could be an argumentative bitch when you didn’t spend most of your time on it.. It suffered from the pampered pooch syndrome..

P.S. Funny I pulled the Maxify apart when I first got it and the battery didn’t make itself visible to me..
:hide
Glad to hear you changed your mind about the PRO-10, most people who were tempted by the PRO-1 should have bought a PRO-10 - I think even Canon would agree ;).

I could be wrong about the Maxify, will open it again, and when I find the battery I will try to replace it.
 
Last edited:

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
14,347
Reaction score
7,767
Points
433
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
Glad to hear you changed your mind about the PRO-10
I had too, otherwise it would have been a complete waste of time getting the Pro 10 and continuing to use the Pro 9500, pretending everything was going to be alright.. I had to change over sooner or later..:)
 

Artur5

Printer Master
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
963
Reaction score
1,152
Points
258
Location
Kmt. 0.
Printer Model
Canon MB5150,Pro10s,Prui3Mk3s+
@The Hat, if you couldn't find the battery of the Maxify, you didn't search well enough. Probably it's cleverly hidden where nobody would expect ( for instance inside the waste ink pads. :p )
 
Top