Is anyone here using Profile Prism with great yielding?

sampheap

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
I am pretty new to Profile Prism - just know it from a friend recently.
I really want to try it as some said it works, and some there said it's not that simple. I have Canon LiDE 110 scanner and VueScan - will these meet the requirement?
I am running a small home printing shop here in Cambodia and I am using many types of paper and a few inks too from Inktec and generic one (no-name) as not many customers want to pay much either. Just currently I am switching to pigment inks too to give more archival quality, but I have trouble to make the color right - honestly I also can't get accurate colors with dye ink either resulting red and green shadow cast ;D

Here are the pictures I tried printed in grey scale which I believe can be improved and corrected with the right profile: http://www.flickr.com/photos/soweic/9334523034/
1. Top left is printed with Epson 1390 and pigment ink using provided Epson Glossy profile (you can see the magenta shadow)
2. Top right is printed with Epson 1400 and Inktec dye ink using provided Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster profile (you can see the greenish cast)
3. Bottom left is printed with Canon MP600 and dye ink using provided Plain Paper profile (it's the best grey scale I can get, but using plain paper profile is limited which the picture printed is not smooth and high quality though choosing Fine)
4. Bottom right is printed with Canon MP600 and dye-ink again using other profiles rather than Plain Paper! (All profiles beside Plain Paper - Fine, I got all sepia look! - wasted 20 photo papers :( )

Is there a way I can ask for one ICC profile be made here before I can plunge in to get my own Profile Prism?

Thanks in advance for all the helps.

P.S: I am also looking for a used calibration device to calibrate my LCD.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3