iP4600 error message

FryingSaucer

Printer Master
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MX725,MB5150. 3D:Anet A8
I have been refilling my iP4600 successfully for 18 months now. However, the printer has just developed a fault.

When I switch on, the power light and the alarm light flash alternately ten times until there is a pause with the power light on, then the sequence repeats. The iP4600 manual says 10 alarm flashes means it cannot perform duplex printing, which doesn't seem particularly relevant, and also there is no mention of the power light flashing alternately with the alarm light. Alternatively, the manual says that if power and alarm flash alternately a printer error has occurred - I take this to mean that the firmware has got an unexplained error. However the manual appears to imply the lights will keep flashing alternately in this case, not pause after ten flashes. So I'm not sure which of these error messages is correct, but my guess is that the firmware has had an unexplained error.

Whatever I do, disconnecting the USB cable, then powering on and off the way Canon suggest has no effect.

This first happened a few weeks ago, and I had just about given up trying everything, when I started doing something with the ink cartridges, and the problem cured itself. The printer has been working OK for the last few weeks, but the error has happened again, and this time I've been unable to clear it.

Since it seems possible that the carts were involved when it cleared before, I wonder whether anyone has seen anything like this, or can suggest anything else to try. Canon support were no help and said I needed to replace the printer.

lin

Print Addict
Reaction score
1) Connect your printer usb cable to your computer and power up the printer.