Ink system failure on HP OfficeJet Pro 8600

Hogwild

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon D1350, Canon IP6600D
Hi everyone:

I'm new here. Looks like a friendly place. I used to be an IT tech, but not with printers. That being said, I have done some minor repairs, like rollers, separation pads, and etc.

I have an OfficeJet 8600 pro here which I found at the curb. The display shows the "Ink system failure" message. I did a lot of Googling and went through the following steps so far:

1. Verified cartridges are not dried up/clogged, and that still contain wet ink. I shook them to listen for the liquid inside.

2. Cleaned the gold electrical contacts on the ink cartridges, and cleaned the contacts on the printhead, that connect with the ink cartridge.

3. Inspected the carriage path for obstacles.

4. Cleaned the printhead/nozzle. I used a Windex/Isopropyl alcohol mixture. I probably should've tried
warm water first.

5. Removed the ink cartridges, then removed the printhead. Reinstalled the printhead, and reinstall the ink cartridges. Did this 4 times, just in case.

6. Checked the CMOS battery. It measured fine.

7. Some videos tell you to do what HP calls a Semi-full reset to fix this problem. This sometimes makes the printer "forget" cartridges dried up, ink was not recently pumped, etc. This is lovely, but I can't get to a menu on the LCD screen as long as the "ink system failure" message display. By definition, I'm locked out of the controls, AFAICT. So that's a catch-22 situation. I assume there's no way to do a semi-full reset if you are stuck on that error screen?

8. Some documentation suggest doing a firmware update on this printer may clear this error. As with above, I haven't found way to do that unless you're NOT stuck at the error message in question