icc for 3800 good for 7800?

gqdre78

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
This might be a very simple question, but i am not sure what the answer is.

I am new to professional level of printing, and just obtained a used but excellent pair of 3800 and 7800. Are the icc profiles interchangeable between the 2? I have tons od icc profiles for the 3800 but not much for the 7800, this is why I'm wondering if I can use it for both.

jtoolman

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
All of them! LOL
Should be OK as the both are K3 printers. Unless you are really finicky and have to have specific profiles for you individual printers.

RogerB

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson Pro3880
gqdre78 said:
Are the icc profiles interchangeable between the 2? I have tons od icc profiles for the 3800 but not much for the 7800, this is why I'm wondering if I can use it for both.
Comparing profiles for just one paper - Ilford GFS - I would say they are certainly not identical, but that's just a simulation.

A real print test is what you need. When I want to do a quick check on a profile I print a simple reference file (below) and compare it to my "reference" print. You could print this on your 3800 with a known good profile, then print it on the 7800 using the same 3800 profile. Comparing the two prints would give you a very quick indication of how useful the 3800 profiles will be for the 7800.

6381_linear_c_c.jpg

For information, the colours in this image are the same as those in the GM Color Checker. They should all be in-gamut for your printers.

gqdre78

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
thanks for the feedback, really appreciate it!

Emulator

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pro9000 II
9023_color_bar.jpg

An interesting colour strip Roger, so I thought I would try printing it with the Canon Pro9000 MkII using the range of standard Canon gloss paper profiles.