Drying flushed ink carts.

martop

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Or should I say ' how to keep fit and flushed '

I'm kinda new to refilling canon carts but decided after reading posts in the forum to reuse my originals that are nearly 9 months old, even though I stored them with the outlet sealed and in a bag, I never knew they had a vent hole :-( so they dried out a lot.

I read about flushing the carts, following advice I read on the forum. So I removed the ball and took them outside, fitted a hose to the tap, coupled the hose to the cart and let it wash out over the drain out doors.

So now I have 5 clean carts, tried blowing the rest of the water out, either the fill holes too small or my lungs are not what they used to be. Next tried blowing the water out of the sponges with a boat inflator, it worked till the 4th cart and then cut out, well it was a cheapo pump ! Stuck for an idea and not wanting to wait till the next warm day here in the UK to dry the carts in the sun, I decided to improvise my own pump.

Us brits can at times be very inventive. I had a bike pump, some self amalgamating tape and a 10ml syringe. The syringe fits the filling hole in the carts very tight, the tape is fitted around the adapter of the bike pump to make it air tight and shoved in the open end of the syringe, all thats left to do is pump it like hell :p

I was quite surprised as to how much water I got out, the compressed air gets warm so helping it dry. Now its not a joke, I tried it and it works and took a picture to show off my lunacy !!

3527_pump.jpg

I removed the balls with a pair of modded needle nose pliers, I had cause for a fine nosed plier some time ago and had to grind the nose to a point with a demil then bend the tip inwards to make a tiny beak, its ideal for pulling out the ball stopper without damaging it too much.

martop

Smile

Printer Master
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon, Brother, HP, Ricoh etc.