Does this printer exist?

frenchc

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Canon i9100 delimma: It is old and I think the print head is shot. I can get a new print head for around $75, but don't know for sure if that is the problem. I decided to read some reviews and look for a new printer. I am really surprised that over 5 years, the best printer I can find for my needs is the one I already have. I am a graphic designer, and need a printer for proofs to give to clients. I have considered every kind of printer I know of: large-format inkjet, laser, even the wax Phasers, but money came into the picture and eliminated most of them. I've dealt with epson printers in the past, and spent more time unclogging them than actually printing. The newer Canon i9900 might have produced better prints than the i9100, but didn't justify adding (refilling) two more cartridges. The newest Canons, pixmas, are chipped. If I could go back in time, I would have purchased 3 i9100s.

This is what I need:
prints up to 13x19
decent color matching, close enough
4ink, no more than 6ink
bulk inks (refillable cartridges)
borderless printing
auto duplexing
ethernet capable
fairly inexpensive (both printer and consumables)

Am I overlooking something? Does this printer exist? At this point I would be happy to get 5 out of 8.

Manuchau

Printer Guru
Reaction score
In the first place. you might want to post exactly what the problem is with the i9100. There are knowledgeable people here who can help.
You might consider a CIS system for even better savings.

I do see these from time to time on eBay...keep looking. And the i9900 is still a great value, even if it does use 8 carts...the extra time is worth it!!

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score