Colormunki Photo hardware fault, quid Datacolor Spyder 3 ?

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Since my Colormunki Photo is dying, I need a replacement.
I can buy a Datacolor Spyder 3 Print SR for € 50, with Windows 10 software.

Is this still a useable solution ?
I suppose it cannot profile my screen.
 

Ink stained Fingers

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
3,568
Reaction score
3,900
Points
283
Location
Germany
Printer Model
L310/805/1800, P400, Pro7600
Isn't the Spyder package already at Version 5 ? And isn't there a chance to get the Colormunki working again ?
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,747
Reaction score
4,878
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
I can buy a Datacolor Spyder 3 Print SR for € 50, with Windows 10 software.
If you need Windows 10 then seems a great deal, even better if it is Windows 10 Pro version.

Three considerations from my Google search:

1) Scans one patch at a time, not one line at a time, so takes a long time to make a profile.

2) As ISF said, the current version is 5. It appears this was introduced in 2009 and is not really a spectrophotometer. While all measuring devices are subject to drift, the Spyder 3 Print SR may not be able to be recalibrated for continued accuracy.

3) Many people seem to prefer Colormunki.

Can you try before you buy?
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Thanks for the replies.
I understand the Spider is a spectrocolorimeter and not a spectrophotometer as the Colormunki, and that the latter is more precise.

My Colormunki has an error on the selection wheel, it takes me umpty retries to position for measure after calibration.
Once this step passed, the measurements work as before.
I take the opportunity to calibrate my screen first.

I already opened it, but can't find out what's wrong. It should be a position mark that faded or fell down.
Nothing at all to find on the internet.

Happily enough I have a fixed set of papers and ink and do not often need new printer profiles.
 
Last edited:

Ink stained Fingers

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
3,568
Reaction score
3,900
Points
283
Location
Germany
Printer Model
L310/805/1800, P400, Pro7600

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,747
Reaction score
4,878
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
My Colormunki has an error on the selection wheel, it takes me umpty retries to position for measure after calibration.
Have you asked X-Rite about this? Maybe i is fixable.

Are your graphics card drivers updated?

Can you be more specific about the issue?
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Have you asked X-Rite about this? Maybe i is fixable.

Are your graphics card drivers updated?

Can you be more specific about the issue?
The screen indicates a wrong position when turning the dial wheel, obviously the correct position is not sensed.
X-Rite confirmed it is a hardware error, but since the device was out of warranty could not help me :(.

It has nothing to do with software, USB or the like.
I run the iStudio software now.
I also tried DisplayCal in the hope the calibration step could be patched out here but no avail.

What I do now is:
- set in calibration position
- launch software wich asks to calibrate (on this moment the position on the screen always is the same as the physical position)
- device is calibrated and asks to turn the wheel to measurement position
- when I turn the wheel the position indicated on the screen jumps around, but seldom on the corresponding one on the wheel
- after many tries, also by tapping it on the back a few times suddenly the correct position is aknowledged by the software and I can continue with calibration of the screen and/or make printer profiles (the calibration stays valid for a certain time)
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,747
Reaction score
4,878
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
X-Rite confirmed it is a hardware error
Did they say what it is? Sounds like a contact/sensor issue. Can you open up the Colormunki to see if something needs cleaning?

The screen indicates a wrong position when turning the dial wheel
One link I read talked about a problem caused by depressing the wheel when turning it. The solution was to use a finger tip on the outer edge of the wheel to turn it. The problem was not as you described but it's worth consideration.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Did they say what it is? Sounds like a contact/sensor issue. Can you open up the Colormunki to see if something needs cleaning?


One link I read talked about a problem caused by depressing the wheel when turning it. The solution was to use a finger tip on the outer edge of the wheel to turn it. The problem was not as you described but it's worth consideration.
I opened it already.
There is a flatcable in the curvature connecting the wheel.
I once found an article from a guy who suggested there was kind of a timing strip inside that could fall apart, and he fixed this by applying patches of white paper on certain (undisclosed) positions, but he was very unpolite to XRite and I suppose they made him disappear.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,232
Reaction score
1,395
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
Would using Argyll CMS solve my problem ?
I see no calibration step in the batch commands.
Or is this built in the driver, meaning the instrument cannot work without a recent calibration.
 

Latest posts

Top