1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: What Old Ink Can Do
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Colormunki Photo hardware fault, quid Datacolor Spyder 3 ?

Discussion in 'Printing Photos and Photo Software' started by palombian, Nov 18, 2018.

  1. Nov 18, 2018
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    890
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Since my Colormunki Photo is dying, I need a replacement.
    I can buy a Datacolor Spyder 3 Print SR for € 50, with Windows 10 software.

    Is this still a useable solution ?
    I suppose it cannot profile my screen.
     
  2. Nov 18, 2018
    Ink stained Fingers

    Ink stained Fingers Printer Master

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    2,916
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Germany
    Printer Model:
    L310, L382, L800, Pro 7600
    Isn't the Spyder package already at Version 5 ? And isn't there a chance to get the Colormunki working again ?
     
  3. Nov 18, 2018
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    3,758
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    If you need Windows 10 then seems a great deal, even better if it is Windows 10 Pro version.

    Three considerations from my Google search:

    1) Scans one patch at a time, not one line at a time, so takes a long time to make a profile.

    2) As ISF said, the current version is 5. It appears this was introduced in 2009 and is not really a spectrophotometer. While all measuring devices are subject to drift, the Spyder 3 Print SR may not be able to be recalibrated for continued accuracy.

    3) Many people seem to prefer Colormunki.

    Can you try before you buy?
     
    The Hat likes this.
  4. Nov 18, 2018
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    890
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Thanks for the replies.
    I understand the Spider is a spectrocolorimeter and not a spectrophotometer as the Colormunki, and that the latter is more precise.

    My Colormunki has an error on the selection wheel, it takes me umpty retries to position for measure after calibration.
    Once this step passed, the measurements work as before.
    I take the opportunity to calibrate my screen first.

    I already opened it, but can't find out what's wrong. It should be a position mark that faded or fell down.
    Nothing at all to find on the internet.

    Happily enough I have a fixed set of papers and ink and do not often need new printer profiles.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
    The Hat likes this.
  5. Nov 18, 2018
    Ink stained Fingers

    Ink stained Fingers Printer Master

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    2,916
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Germany
    Printer Model:
    L310, L382, L800, Pro 7600
    stratman and The Hat like this.
  6. Nov 19, 2018
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    3,758
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Have you asked X-Rite about this? Maybe i is fixable.

    Are your graphics card drivers updated?

    Can you be more specific about the issue?
     
    Ink stained Fingers likes this.
  7. Nov 19, 2018
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    890
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    The screen indicates a wrong position when turning the dial wheel, obviously the correct position is not sensed.
    X-Rite confirmed it is a hardware error, but since the device was out of warranty could not help me :(.

    It has nothing to do with software, USB or the like.
    I run the iStudio software now.
    I also tried DisplayCal in the hope the calibration step could be patched out here but no avail.

    What I do now is:
    - set in calibration position
    - launch software wich asks to calibrate (on this moment the position on the screen always is the same as the physical position)
    - device is calibrated and asks to turn the wheel to measurement position
    - when I turn the wheel the position indicated on the screen jumps around, but seldom on the corresponding one on the wheel
    - after many tries, also by tapping it on the back a few times suddenly the correct position is aknowledged by the software and I can continue with calibration of the screen and/or make printer profiles (the calibration stays valid for a certain time)
     
    The Hat likes this.
  8. Nov 19, 2018
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    3,758
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Did they say what it is? Sounds like a contact/sensor issue. Can you open up the Colormunki to see if something needs cleaning?

    One link I read talked about a problem caused by depressing the wheel when turning it. The solution was to use a finger tip on the outer edge of the wheel to turn it. The problem was not as you described but it's worth consideration.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  9. Nov 19, 2018
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    890
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    I opened it already.
    There is a flatcable in the curvature connecting the wheel.
    I once found an article from a guy who suggested there was kind of a timing strip inside that could fall apart, and he fixed this by applying patches of white paper on certain (undisclosed) positions, but he was very unpolite to XRite and I suppose they made him disappear.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  10. Dec 9, 2018
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    890
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Would using Argyll CMS solve my problem ?
    I see no calibration step in the batch commands.
    Or is this built in the driver, meaning the instrument cannot work without a recent calibration.
     

Share This Page