Clogging of new Pro9000 print-head with MIS inks... what's going on?

Johnny Z

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hi, It's great to find a group with in-depth discussions of inks, printers and ink-refilling. Looks like a treasure trove of information.

I'm a graphic arts professional (illustrator) and daily use two wide format printers... one of which is a Pixma Pro9000.

I have been having a lot of trouble with MIS inks for the Canon Pixma Pro9000 from inksupply.com.

The problems I have seem very illogical. Maybe someone knows the solution.

After buying the new Canon Pixma Pro9000 last October, I used up the original cartridges and then purchased an inksupply.com refill kit from inksupply.com. Everything seemed to be going fine for about 2 months as I refilled the carts about 3 or 4 times.

But then I started getting repeated clogging in the PM and LC carts. Finally I sent away for a new Canon print-head, thinking this would fix the problem. But it didn't.

I received the new print-head and put it in at once. However, I was amazed to discover just 15 minutes after installing the brand new replacement print-head, that streaking and clogging began to appear in the printouts and the nozzle check!

I immediately purchased an OEM Canon Pixma PM cartridge and then the troublesome nozzle worked correctly. The only conclusion I could reach is that MIS inks must not be compatible with the Canon print-head or something. Could this be?

Also I notice when I hold the cartridge to the light that there is loose particulate matter floating in the ink cartridges. This is noticeable on the PM and Y cartridges because they are the lightest color and easiest to see through. Here's a link to a close-up photo of these particulates...

2282155649_13644f930b.jpg

Is this normal to have particulates like this inside the ink cartridge? Might this some sort of ink residue that has coalesced inside cartridge from the pigment in the ink? Something from the sponge? I am baffled.