CISS opinions on Canon ip4700

drames

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I am also buying an ip4700 and I have access to some CISS's from the web, like this one:

http://www.4inkandmore.com/cartridg...ntinuous-inking-system-prefilled-p-10315.html

1) I'm a big noob and just joined the site, but why is it that CISS for canon's are bad according to some of you?

Canon CISS are referred to as not recommended on this post: http://www.nifty-stuff.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=5207

I mostly watch youtube videos on CISS to get my info, and I'd like to find out more.

I ask because I'm buying this for my parents, and using the German method of refilling ink is a little overwhelming for them, I like how in a CISS they can just pour the ink into the external tanks. I will also be using this as I am a student and it is great for printing documents because of the automatic duplexer.

If, as long as I keep a mark on the external tanks as to not fill in too much ink and keep "negative pressure" as mentioned in this post:

http://www.nifty-stuff.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2498

Shouldn't the CISS be ok?

drames

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I had some other questions too, but I'm not sure if I should start a new topic or not, I don't want to spam the forums with questions:

2) Also, I'm buying inks from the same site:

http://www.4inkandmore.com/refill-5...00-ip4700-mp620-mp640-120ml-each-p-10317.html

Are these inks good enough?, it seems there is an ongoing war in this forum about inks and I don't really understand it.

The last thing,

I watched this video regarding a Canon pixma ip4700 CISS, and the guy mentions that there are two black inks for this printer:

The pigment based and the dye-based, and the guy in the video mentions that the pigment based can lead to clogging? Is this true?

Also, if I were to print b/w text documents, which black ink would be used: pigment or dye based? And what black inks would be used for photos?

Thank you so much gang!!!

The Hat