Cheap and good eBay cartridge source.

Paul Verizzo

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon ip4500, 9000 MK II, PRO-
I know this forum is about refilling, which I've been doing for some 15 years. But sometimes, like when you are in a rush, a decent new cartridge is the answer.

Fifteen Canon carts for $11 with shipping. (USA, here.)

http://stores.ebay.com/etonersupplyqualityinksandtoner/

Bought them for my workhorse office iP4500 printer, which has always made amazing photos, too.

Just for grins, I ran four test prints, not expecting much. One was official Canon Photo Paper Plus semi-gloss, two were HP swellable polymer glossy papers, very cheap and not cheap, and a heavy matte double sided which I've loved for years. Each paper type was changed to the closest logical one in the printer setup.

Amazing. While there are differences, none of the prints are fatally flawed. All within "Very nice." This is after twelve hours of drying time. The official Canon paper is a small amount better in a flesh tone portion, but not enough to notice except by comparison.

My test image is adjusted for full 0-255 computer RGB gamut, both color and B&W in one. It's on my OneDrive: http://1drv.ms/1ziPm9H

Obviously, my experience only holds true for Canon CLI-8 generics at this point in time. YMMV, after all, all this is Chinese sourced.

Smile

Printer Master
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon, Brother, HP, Ricoh etc.
But the fading will be very bad I think, or not depending on ink quality :fl

Paul Verizzo

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
But the fading will be very bad I think, or not depending on ink quality :fl

Belaboring the obvious? Not an issue for hobby/home/office use.

And besides, you never know. There are only so many ink manufacturers in China, who then sell to fillers who then sell to retailers. Surely it's always in flux, who has the best prices, etc. just like any manufacturing network.