canon two different printers,two different problems !

eevee

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
hello all
i hope you can help me as im a bit of a wally when it comes to printers ! (i am new to this forum so please forgive me if i have posted in the wrong thread)

(problem one)
i have a canon pixma 1500 and i could not use it because it said the waste ink absorber was full....a friend cleaned that out and the inside of the printer but it is still saying "waste ink absorber full" and refusing to do anything.......is there something else i need to do ?
to get it going again,the printer is only about a year and a half old.

(problem two)
i bought a canon ip6220D and i am really not impressed with it,the cartridges are soooo expensive ,i know it is because they have the print head on them but i am a photography student so you can imagine the amount of printing i have to do on very little money !
i dont understand the C and P cartridges do i HAVE to use both ? or can i get away with using just the photo one ?

costs wise i prefer the pixma 1500 because i can get cartridges for that for 3 but print quality wise i prefer the ip6220D

many thanks in advance :)

eevee

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
ok thanks jackson for your promt reply, i will try that out
most appreciated :)

eevee

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
me again....ok i managed to reset and it no longer shows the "waste ink absorber full" message but now it is just sending out blank pages
it sounds like it is printing but ...nothing on the paper !
the ink cartridges are new and def have ink in them...and i have tried a different USB lead and a different port

do you think it is possible that when it was cleaned something was knocked out of place ?
is the part under the ink tanks meant to move as well ?
sorry...hard to describe but it has two little black pads and a sort of grey/white lever and the ink tank/print head thing sits over it.