Canon Pixma ip5000 ---> Help Needed!

Zedlum

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
OK... I admit it... My Pixma has beaten me :rolleyes:

I seem to have two (possibly related?) issues -->

1. Photos are way too yellow.

2. General print is a little feint.

I have done all of the print head cleaning suggestions that I have found, the print head test pattern prints fine but does seem to lack a little ink. I have loaded the latest drivers from Canon after that I got one test page that printed darker and closer to my friends results from a Canon printer but that was all, now its back to normal i.e slightly light. I have downloaded printer purge pages and oddly they seem to print fine with plenty of colour laid down. I have come to believe that its not a physical issue with the printer but rather some arcane setting that I have inadvertently messed up.

As for the yellow photo issue, well they are proper yellow, not "hey I'm a photo expert and I can see a yellow hue" yellow, anyone can see it plain as day. I have tried altering almost every setting I can find and nothing really seems to impact the photo quality that much. Manually turning down the yellow does not even seem to yield much in the way of change, and when it does all the other colours are off balance. The colour balance in general line work seems fine but again slightly feint.