Canon MP760 color shifting & banding

IanB

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi, I'm having a problem with my Canon MP760 printer, which recently began printing light evenly-spaced bands on color printing, and it also appears to be printing incorrect colors. I am a newbie, and have found several related posts in this forum, but nothing seemed to show the same symptoms or severity, so I was hoping that someone here has seen (or can diagnose) this issue.

I am using non OEM cartridges and have been doing so for quite sometime, but I'm struggling to see how this could have caused the problem (but willing to be enlightened if need be). The print head checks (which I will try to upload shortly) show very clear and regular banding when the color inks are used more heavily, but no banding at lighter shades.

A color test pattern http://www.neilslade.com/gifs/TestPrint6Color.jpg shows the banding on all colors, but only the blue and cyan are reproduced in the correct shade. The Yellow is printed as light green and the magenta is printed as purple. I have double checked that all color cartridges are in the correct positions.

It really appears to me that the printers brain has been scrambled, but of course I was hoping that someone here would have a bit better explanation and advice on whether the problem is terminal!

IanB

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Here is a scan of the test color print http://www.neilslade.com/gifs/TestPrint6Color.jpg
which shows the banding and incorrect color rendition

5640_001.jpg

IanB

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
And here is a scan of the nozzle check pattern which shows the banding on the heavier colors but not the lighter cyan and magenta. Note that all colors are correctly rendered.

5640_002.jpg

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530