Canon MP270 question..

scar

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello guys,

Newbie here....and really need some help. :D

Please bear with me as this is a loooong post. :/ I really need to ask 5 questions. To keep intro short here's the situation:

- Brand new Canon Pixma Mp270, OEM PG510 and CL511 - excellent results but LED lit up on Black, so it's due for repalcement. No compatibles on Ebay (or elsewhere) [why is that?] - and OEM still expensive. Just bought Inktec refill kit for black - it's on the way....but here's the problems: :(

1) Over the internet, I've read somewhere that it's not possible to reset Pixma cartridges. Somewhere else, they say it is possible but not for all pixma models. So (being direct) Is it possible to reset Mp270 cartridges? The cartridges available for me are: PG510, PG512, CL511 and CL513.

2) If not possible, then will my mp270 print after I refill? Or will I have to disable permanently the ink monitoring to make it print? - If so, then how do I do that?

3) The Canon Software on cd it came with doesn't show ink levels at all. Is it something I failed to install? Do other mp270 owners have graphic ink levels?

4) If I disable permanently the ink monitoring, I was thinking of installing inkmon program..but how do I insert the actual capacity left in my cartridges? I know black is empty now - but colour LED warning is still off. How on Earth would I know what's in it? Could be 3/4 full or maybe 1/2 full!! Dunno! Best thing would have been to start inkmon when both cartridges were absolutely full...but that's in the past now! Too Late!

5) This may sound stupid ..but I gotta ask...does inkmon calculate used ink when a photocopy has been done or is it just printing that's counted? (My answer here is... uhm..NO) Right?

Thanks for the time and cooperation guys..

Best Regards

Scar :p

lindarw

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score