Canon i960 Magenta problem?

ejaf

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hi...just found this forum, and the wealth of info has been great, so thanks in advance...

Wondering whether someone can help me here. I have been refilling OEM carts for this printer since I got it 2 years ago, with no issues, until now.

Now, I can't get a decent photo print, and when I run the manual print head alignment, the patterns in columns C and E show stripes all the way down the line. I have tried cleaning, deep cleaning, and also the "panos" method of soaking the print head on a paper with an ammonia solution (didn't have any ammonia Windex around).

Is my print head burnt, or is there a possibility of a clog still being there, causing the two rows of Magenta colored test patterns being messed up.

Another fact...when I originally started looking into the problem, I noticed that the photo magenta cart seemed to have a major block into the sponge, although the sponge itself was not totally dry.

Any help greatly appreciated...

Eric

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
Eric,

Can you post a scan or a photo of your head alignment printout? See (http://www.nifty-stuff.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=36) for instructions on posting an image.

Regular patterns of missing ink usually indicate poor electrical contact between the back of the print head and the carriage, a problem with the cable carrying the signals to the moving carriage that holds the print head, or a problem with the main circuit board.

Use a SOFT pencil eraser and gently clean the contacts on the back of the print head and make sure that you did not get any water behind the circuit board on the print head. If it might be wet, use a hair dryer set on low heat (under 120 degrees F) to dry it out.

ejaf

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Will do this tonight...don't have a scanner, but can upload jpg, if that will suffice...